We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice coffee shop in downtown Santa Monica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Luxxe

Caffe Luxxe
925 Montana Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90403-1504 (Santa Monica)
310-394-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 594 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very nice coffee shop in downtown Santa Monica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

they make very good expresso/latte/cappuccino, and the varietal coffee is good. Generally good selection of pastries. Atmosphere very relaxing and quiet, and you can sit long enough to enjoy your treat. Only down side is that they are not great at preparing a pot of tea. Use too much tea and too-hot water, but that is a small quibble.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The athmoshere her rid very nice and the place is quiet. Cappuccino is very good and this guys also make gorgeous paintings with the foam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I would usually get a latte at a place like this, but we were about to go out to eat and decided to just get a pour over. It was good coffee, but it wasn't anything spectacular. It was just an overpriced cup of coffee. I work at a bakery that serves pour overs of Equator Coffee (same coffee served at French Laundry) and it's way better and way cheaper! Maybe we would have had a different experience had we gotten a latte! I did like the ambiance inside. It had a crisp, clean, cool feel. The two guys behind the counter were a little stand-offish. I'm not sure where businesses got the idea that "customer service" given by people who act like their too cool for you is good for business, but it's ridiculous! Sorry, but I always prefer a friendly, welcoming environment and we did not experience that at all. Overall, I'm glad we tried Caffe Luxxe, but it's not a place I would frequent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Gourmet Coffee and Treats but Average Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The baristas were friendly and attentive. This place offers many great looking pastries and Macaroons baked daily. You could smell the delicious treats from outside the store. They offered fresh squeezed orange juice. The drip coffee is great and the Americano was even better. You could tell that only high quality ingredients are used.

I just could not help but notice that they were not trying to differentiate themselves from other coffee shops. Although the coffee alone is worth the visit, the experience is average. I also visited the location on Montana Avenue and the service is not nearly as good as in the Brentwood location, this location should be avoided.

The shop was nicely decorated, clean and with regulars enjoying their coffee and newspaper. There was plenty of seating. Great morning sunlight due to the large windows. Small dogs are allowed inside the shop.

There is metered parking outside the shop and plenty more inside the shopping center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It does not live up to the marketing hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'm spoilt when it comes to drinking great coffee. Luxxe says it makes great coffee but frankly is just average. Not bad and not great.
The pastries aren't great.
I had a scone. Dry, flavourless and super crumbly.
I am looking forward to trying another place.
Won't go back to Luxxe. Overrated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Luxxe also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Caffe Luxxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Luxxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.