We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hang out for coffee time: great coffee & delicious pastry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urth Caffe

Urth Caffe
2327 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-2219 (Santa Monica)
310-314-7040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 514 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night Food, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great hang out for coffee time: great coffee & delicious pastry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Love the atmosphere. Warm n cozy! Parking is a bit difficult - so park a little further away then walk to the cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    123
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleves, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“This is a happening place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I visited here for dinner on Saturday evening. When we arrived there was a line out the door however the line moved quickly. There is limited seating however we did get to sit on the patio and watch the traffic go by on Main Street. The food was excellent as everyone else has stated. We would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food - if you have the funds and patients to wait for a table to open.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I would love to be able to say that I love this café but every time I leave I wonder why I ever went back. This is great but ridiculously overpriced. You have to wait in line and it is self seating which can be very awkward. I believe that this café is more hype than substance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My dating place with my wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is very healthy and fresh. The varity is great. They have something for all tastes and diet. I go here with my wife in the middle of the week and we walk about 2 miles to get here. The green icetea is perfect after that long walk. Its is two blockes from the beach walk. I definitely suggest a stroll on the beach afterward.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

There are 3 Urth Caffe in the Los Angeles area (Melrose, Beverly drive and Main Street). They are all great. All have outdoor sitting and all are crowded. They have kept over the years (and the locations) the same quality. Salads and panini are the best, top quality ingredients. Coffees and teas are exceptional and served with French press. And do not forget the French apple tart (Tarte Tatin). I never found one as good as this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urth Caffe also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Urth Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urth Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.