We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
301 Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3127
310-393-0458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The place is very touristic, and is on the Santa Monica pier.
We had to wait a little bit to be seated. It was quite crowded and the music was a bit loud ( we were seated right beneath a loud speaker). I had Jenny´s Catch, which was some white fish over mashed potatoes with a delicious lobster sauce. My husband is a shell fish fan, and had the Shrimpers heaven, which includes a number of various shrimp dishes. We liked it a lot!
The waitress was very friendly and chatty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    316
    108
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The service was excellent and food was very very good. Excellent food quality and nice view from the place. You should go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

stopped here early on a sunday evening and had a wonderful meal with the family, views are wonderful of the sunset and ocean. i am a great seafood lover but hubby and son aren't, but this is no problem as there is enough on the menu for everyone. service is great with cheerful staff that love to have a joke and a banter with you, nothing is too much trouble for them. it is a little pricey but for a treat it the food hits the spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor service, Cold Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

On vacation December 2013. Dined here after walking on pier. It was a chilly day for Santa Monica and my wife wanted some soup. Restaurant was not busy, and we asked hostess to sit in a booth. She takes us pass 3 empty booths that seat up to 4 people and bring us to the back seating that is set up half booth and half chairs for seating up to six people. It was just two of us. After we ordered, we waited about ten minutes for food. When food arrived, my wife's soup was just warm. I ordered a fish fillet entree and substituted onion strings in place of fries. My fish and onion side was COLD! The fish was dry and onion rings tasted like it was fried a few times over. Franchise food should not be served or taste like this. Just a terrible food experience for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a bite on the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Top spot out on the pier, love the decor, service was good and food comes out quickly, they have really good mango lemonade and the jenny surprise i think it was called was lovely, fresh fish, lovely sauce and great mash. The stand out of the meal was the chowder rich and delicious, its not cheap at all but food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.