We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat at the bar to avoid waiting for a table” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
301 Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3127
310-393-0458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eat at the bar to avoid waiting for a table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Turned up ad-hoc but 45 main wait for table. Told we could eat at bar if we wanted. Actually more fun, more atmosphere and quickly able to get drinks. Good choice of starters and mains. Really quick service. Food of a kind. Very predictable since part of a chain not fantastic but for its type very acceptable. Would eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    316
    108
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've been to a couple Bubs Gump restaurants. This one has a great location on the pier. The good is knockoff southern, but decent. The drinks are not bad either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overdone Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kids wanted to come. Horrible service. Changed waiters three times. Wait staff on break were loud and innappropriate next to our table. They also spent a lot of time on their cellphones. Music drowned out our conversation. I'll be sticking to the hole in the wall places from now on

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very close to the best experience had in a tourist atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was awesome and the only thing better than that was our wait staff. They were so very funny and attentive. The have a method for guests to alert the staff when you need something and anyone answers your need - not just your server. AWESOME. I had the after the storm bucket of boat trash - crab legs, flash fried shrimp and Cajun spiced fried cod and a load of fries. The meal would have been excellent but for the crab legs were slightly over cooked. Everything else was fresh and hot and looked as good as it tasted. I could not finish all of the food - that made me very sad because it was so good - but I couldn't carry it around the pier. I ordered a peach tea drink with alcohol in a fabulous Mason jar glass with a stem! So cute and I could keep the glass. The view of the ocean was amazing as well. We were seated in no time. I'll be looking up Bubba Gump's in every city!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly, bubbly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went here on our first night in Santa Monica and we were pleasantly surprised. We expected a long wait as there was a big queue outside but we were seated immediately, which was great. Our server was very bubbly and friendly and we were able to have informal chat with joke with him. Our food was quite nice but bare in mind that most of the menu is shrimp! The best part of the meal for me was the dessert. This place is worth visiting just for their warm chocolate chip cookie with ice cream- delicious! Oveall very nice and reasonably priced, very cheerful and relaxed, down to earth atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.