We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
301 Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3127 (Santa Monica)
310-393-0458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 513 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First time at a Bubba Gump's. I really loved my Jenny's Catch (tilapia with a lobster sauce and mashed potatoes) but the boyfriend wasn't a huge fan of his jambalaya. The drinks were good, especially the Lava Flow. It's sweet, but delicious. Our server was very friendly and even helped us out with some restaurant recommendations in the next city we were travelling to. It would have been nice if their seafood wasn't all previously frozen, especially since we were eating on a fishing pier where local seafood is readily available but it's a chain so...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    476
    160
    49
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We enjoyed the location being right on the pier over looking Santa Monica beach. The atmosphere was good although a bit noisy as it is quite popular. The food was really good eating. I had the clam chowder it was as good as you can get at Fishermans wharf in San Francisco. My spouse had the seafood basket and it was tasty. The portions weren't overly huge as we had found in other American restaurants. We thought they were just right, we had no room for desert though, :( , which was a disappointment as they looked very nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Popped in for drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited the pier with friends....While the parents did the rides with the 3 year old, my friend (Grandma) and I popped into Bubba Gumps for some beverages...we had the special Blue Hawaiians...Our bartender took pride in his work, was working hard to keep up with all his customers, all the while being very personable and friendly...I wish I could remember his name, maybe Mario because that is who I would recommend....He took the time to come over and chat for a few minutes......it was important, especially for a "chain"....He made a difference in our visit...not just a number in groups of folks that run thru the restaurant............Visit the bar and even have a bite there :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Food was good, service was good. Only bad thing is we sat by the door to the patio and the wind blew so hard each time the door opened it blew everything off the table next to us and on to us. LOL we were able to sit and watch the sunset from our table. Thing is w/ Bubba Gump's, they are all the same, so you know what your gonna get.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Stop on Santa Monica Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stopped in for drinks and appetizers on a busy Sunday afternoon and the staff could not have been nicer nor more attentive. We enjoyed hanging out watching the people on the beach while enjoyed an adult beverage along with the seafood hushpuppies.

Would definitely recommend stopping in for a drink

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.