We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sober Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   219 W. Channel Road, Santa Monica, CA 90402   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Half Off!*
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
wales
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Sober Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chanel Road Inn. The bedroom and lounges were very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious, different each morning. My one criticism was the penny-pinching regarding the wine offered during the happy hour. One carafe does not go far when there are 20+ guests, and it was the devils own job getting a top up. They should either do it properly or not at all.
The rest of the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    64
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
224
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beautiful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing, as was the evening wine and snack. We had the room in the back - it was accessible from outside. It was decorated very nicely and the cookies for us when we got there were a nice touch. We enjoyed our entire stay and felt all of the staff was great. The location was perfect for us. The beach is a short walk away and everything we wanted to do was nearby as well. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the LA area. Thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location being walking distance from the beach and plenty of good restaurants nearby. You can walk to the pier and city centre which are both around 1.5 miles away but easily reached along the beach or via Ocean Avenue. The homemade breakfast at the hotel is delightful and the whole peaceful atmosphere is a great way to start the day. The hotel has bikes that you can use without extra charge and free tea and coffee are available at all times. Much better than staying at a big soulless hotel and I would definitely recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my first experience staying at a B&B and I did not know what to expect. I feel it would be difficult to have a bad experience considering the friendly, done to earth staff, who go out of there way to make one feel at home. I would not suggest this place for families with children, although there was a young couple spending 3 days here, with their 18 month old, and had no complaints.This charming, historic home is well decorated, clean and is about one mile from the well visited Santa Monica Pier. We road the complimentary bikes to the bike path, along the beach, which is one block from the Inn. I must agree with a previous post that the beds are outrageously comfortable and also would add that the bedding is luxurious! We are a social couple so we enjoyed sharing the breakfast room and living room with others. Each room has their own private bath. The homemade breakfast everyday was delicious and we looked forward to attending the wine and cheese hour they provided. I look forward to booking a stay at some of their other California locations in the future.

Room Tip: They let me pick a room(one of 3 that were open) when we arrived, It was difficult because I do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm currently staying at the Inn for a business trip. I'm actually in the smallest bedroom within the property (it's called the Cozy). It's small but has plenty of space for one person and two as well if you don't have much luggage. Also, the wifi is free and it has worked like a charm so far. The Inn is situated amongst residences but it's a very short walk from the beach and PCH; as such, it can be a bit noisy with the traffic nearby, so if you are a light sleeper I'd suggest booking a room on the northeast side of the property.

The place in general is charming with lots of character; this obviously comes with some things like oldish plumbing that you might not be used to in a more modern home, but it all works; you just have to be a bit flexible. It's decorated in a sort of beachy/rustic theme, which suits the area wonderfully. It's a very comfortable place.

Breakfast is very good; every morning so far, they have served a hot dish (usually egg-based) along with cereals, scones, fruit, juices, coffee, and tea. The real treat though is their happy hour, which features wine, cheese, fruit, vegetables, and home-baked cookies. Everything is fresh and tastes quite good.

The real stars here though are the staff - they are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to be helpful with suggestions and directions. I would definitely return on either vacation or busines - this is a great part of the area to be based as it's quite reasonable to downtown LA, LAX, the beach, and several other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at Channel Road Inn quite a few times throughout the years. The inn continues to be a favorite. The staff, in particular, are wonderful. My only complaint is the Four Sisters group. Ever since they took over, it seems to me that they don't know how to run a property quite as well as Channel Road Inn did on it's own. It's not worth mentioning what experience I had with Four Sisters that makes me feel negatively towards them because I wouldn't want to detour people from staying at the Inn. However, it seems the Four Sisters could learn a thing or two from the way things used to be done before at the Channel Road. All in all though, a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This property is situated a bit outside of Santa Monica-about a $15 cab ride. The beach is within walking distance and restaurants are close. The walls are thin and it's not secluded. Not sure if it's the greatest place for families; it's an unusual combination of rooms and living space--very communal. Breakfasts are stellar and they make home made cookies every night. The beds are outrageously comfortable. We liked it but felt like we were sharing all aspects of our experience with everyone which can be a positive as well.

Room Tip: call ahead to to discuss the variables and options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 219 W. Channel Road, Santa Monica, CA 90402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.