We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
Seaview Hotel
1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Seaview is so close to everything! The rooms are all decorated differently and some have better bathrooms than others and some have little kitchens whilst others do not however we found our room to be perfect and probably more room than some of the expensive hotels nearby. The gardens were magical and very well kept - our room was very clean and serviced by lovely housekeepers each day - the bed was extremely comfy. Rosa and David at reception were a wonderful help with any of our needs. The free WiFi was great and agree with others breakfast at the coffee shop next door is fabulous! The only noise we noticed was from the garbage trucks in the morning but we were up and about wanting to start our adventures so no problem and if you shut your bathroom door you don't hear much anyway. Only one thing was that we had a little refrigerator but no glasses were supplied in our room - I am sure though if we had asked that Rosa or David would have supplied a couple for us. We felt we had won a prize as the accommodation cost was so reasonable much less than any of the fancy places and Seaview has much more of a personality than the other very much more expensive choices. If we visit Santa Monica again we will definitely stay again - perfect holiday accommodation. Remember it is not 5 star but it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    51
    18
    24
See reviews for
36
135
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I absolutely love this place. The people at the front desk, the assistance with everything was so great! The restaurants and shops are close to everything. The coffee place next door has the best breakfast. Make sure to bring your walking shoes!

Room Tip: Bring your bicycle the beach is right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Made booking in Sept 12 for July. Arrived with family from England to find they had given our room away. Very upset, will we have to sleep in the car. The excuse was that my card had expired in December, you always get a new card with a new date, so why did they not contact me by email or phone, he rang a couple of places, found a room in another motel, where 6 of us slept for 3 nights . Very disappointed, so will never book anything again that does not take a deposit or payment as that is a good excuse not to keep your room, don't trust this motel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on our first couple of nights in America and it was lovely. Clean, nice beds, excellent location, really close to the beach and downtown. It was very good value for the price. You're not far away from the main road, so there is traffic noise, and there was building work going on at the time, but I'm a good sleeper, so that didn't bother me. Or it could have been the jet lag!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel had a nice beachy feel to it and the room was lovely.
The kitchen was a little old and tired but we ate out a lot so this was no problem.
The bathroom was the same but was clean and worked so that was all that mattered.
This is great value for money. Very close to the beach and a short walk to 3rd st Promenade.
Rosa was very friendly and helpful.
The only thing was the noise from the street. It was quite loud as we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. There is a room or two a little further back from the road (117 I think) which I would ask for next time.
I could only get Wifi right by the door of our room (might have been my phone though).
Restaurants that were close were - Brunos down the road has good pizza, Coras has good coffee and I wouldn't go back to the Mexcian place next to Brunos.

Room Tip: Room 117 is off the road so hopefully a little less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great for the price. Half the price of everything in Santa Monica, and not a cockroach motel. Room was comfortable. a couple blocks from downtown Santa Monica and 2 blocks from the beach!!! Great Location. The room was clean and we someone got upgraded to a bigger room that did have a big fridge and microwave and coffee maker. It was a little noisy in the morning, but after closing the windows and turning on the fan it was almost impossible to hear the noise.

People were very nice, I don't know why others say they were rude. I left the light on in my car for 2 days, and the battery died. The guy ran real fast to the restaurant next door to find an employee with a car to jump mine. He was very nice about it, and didn't seem annoyed at all. More concerned for us and the car since we were driving from Colorado.

I will definitely stay here again if in Santa Monica, unless I win the lottery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, great location (near the shops, restaurants, pier, and beautiful beach!) and good value! Comfy bed, free parking (very useful in Santa Monica!) and even a small kitchen! Just make sure you book it in advance as they are always fully booked!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: 1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems and T4B so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.