We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price, noisy though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
Seaview Hotel
1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location and price, noisy though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. Location is great, walking distance to Pier and 3rd street. Free wifii, free parking. Price is very reasonable, rooms are spacy and clean. Lovely garden. We stayed in room 14 which was close to the road. Only problem is the car noise you hear while trying to sleep, otherwise a 5 star, perfect budget place! They can get over this problem if they changed the window system maybe and get those two sided new ones that block the noise. My advice is to call the reception and ask for a room facing the beach side. That is what I would do if I went back. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    108
    50
    17
    23
See reviews for
34
131
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night during quick road trip from Oakland. Love the Retro feel of this hotel. We got a free upgrade when we checked in, and we were very pleased with the room. It was clean and the bed was super comfortable. Will stay here again next time in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here with 4 friends they were very accomodating to the group in one room, very clean, nice deco for a place, bathroom was on the small side but had the added bonus of a kitchenette. nice roof top terrace, free parking and great loaction to santa monica pier. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was so excited to book a stay at this hotel for a big upcoming trip after seeing dozens out of my price range. Unfortunately this hotel is all smoke & mirrors! After researching (on THEIR website) the room rates and availability for my stay, I decided to go ahead and lock in the low rate. After trying several times, unsuccessfully, to reserve a room online, I noticed they give a phone number to call for reservations. OH HOW I WISH I COULD'VE BOOKED ONLINE! The person that answered the phone acted completely disturbed to be answering the phone and kept cutting me off in broken English to tell me to go "reserve online". I tried to explain (in English) that the website wasn't allowing me to do so. She huffily told me they had no rooms available anyway and got off the phone. I, for one, am glad I saved my hard earned money to spend it where it's appreciated. Sooo disappointed....

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my friend had to find a place to stay one night prior to a 2 week tour we had already orgainised. We wern't looking for anything special, just a cheap place close to central Santa Monica. Seaview ticked all the boxes. We arrived early from our international flight to find our room wasn't ready, which we predicted. They said we could leave our luggage there while we filled in a few ours around town. The lady at the front desk wasn't very professional, but for a small cheap hotel you can't hope for much. When we returned they asked if we wanted a room upstairs or downstairs - because of our luggage. We said down but discovered our room was up? There was no lift. Confusing, and the gentlemen sitting in the front desk with the lady didnt offer to help. The rooms we basic. We were just happy to have free wifi and a place to rest our heads. Situated on a busy road but the noise wasn't too bad. I'd recommened this place for a cheap stop over.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The motel is walking distance to the pier, beach, and great restaurants. It is a older hotel right on Ocean Ave. It is very tough to get any decent sleep, because of lights and noise(you can hear every conversation). The bathrooms are very old and need updating. The staff is friendly, but you must ask for towels and washcloth.

Room Tip: avoid room #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the coolest! Now if you want 5 star then prolly not your cup o tea. Close to beach, clean, nothing fancy but safe and has all you need. Awesome location, great landscaping, private patio as well as a roof top sun deck with ocean view. You cant beat it! The staff is awesome. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: you get whats available, theres not a lot of choosing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: 1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.