We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Hotel
1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location and good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights from 26th December .
Very big comfy bed.
Close to everything.
Clean room.was very good for the price.
Will stay again if we go to Santa Monica again.
Lots of great places to eat close by,Bruno's Italian,cheap and good food.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    100
    43
    16
    18
See reviews for
31
113
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here earlier this month. All of the great reviews are true. The rooms are spacious, recently remodeled, and clean. We made reservations on their website and had no problems. It is a super close walk to the pier and 3rd Street. Thanks to another reviewer, we had breakfast at Cora's Coffee next to the hotel and loved it. We also had dinner at Bruno's Italian Restaurant (just down the street from the hotel) and loved that place too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 with 2 double beds and it was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Made a reservation for two rooms, they said its gonna be ok, then they wanted to put us in a double bed room and were more than unfriendly... But you can try your luck if you don't need reliable reservations...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I checked in late and packed it in for the night in this neat bungalow-feel room with a bathroom and a kitchenette. The next norning I walked down to the Santa Monica Pier and looked at the curve of L.A. Inspiring. Next door is Cora's Coffee, where I got breakfast to go. Looking at the menu, there were dozens of things I wanted to try. Easy to get in and out of. Easy to check in and out. The hotel is right next to a JW Marriotte and a Loews, which I am sure are 5 times the amount.

I'll stay here again. My only gripe was that I needed to use my laptop and there wasn't a place to use it so I had to use my lap. Maybe desk sized end tables would do the trick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Quaint hotel 1 block from beach w small, beautiful grounds. Very easy access with Clean, well-decorated rooms. The owners are friendly, attentive & helpful. Has a B&B feel to it. If you like Italian food, you have to try Brunos - a 3-minute walk from Sea View and outstanding food.

We stayed here in late Dec -- off season -- and room was comfortable and warm. We had a fridge & blow dryer in our room.
Very firm, comfortable King bed w/ very nice bed linens.

Only down side to this hotel is very limited parking.

Enjoyed our stay ~~ will be back! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent three days here at the end of October & loved it! The location was perfect, a couple blocks from the Santa Monica Pier and walking distance to Venice. It felt more like an apartment than a hotel, a little beach home away from home. This is the best, and I think the only, way to do Santa Monica on a budget. Not only are the rooms reasonably priced, but the refridgerators in the rooms are medium sized and can fit a good amount of food. If you're looking for luxury you've come to the wrong place. The walls are thin, the street is loud, they don't provide beach towels or beach cruisers. But the rooms are clean, the people are nice, the location is amazing, and you can stay three nights for the price of one. I loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Seaview for a wedding a few weekends ago. Somehow we managed to get their "Presidential Suite." It was very spacious and even had a kitchen! If I had known earlier we would have somewhere to cook, we would've gone to the grocery store or brought food from home. It's a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of Santa Monica and not pay over $200/night. The only down side is -- you get what you pay for. Windows and walls were extremely thin, so you could hear your neighbors and all of the crazy construction on Ocean Ave. They're also very minimal when it comes to shampoo, conditioner, soap, TP etc. Expect only soap and very, very cheap TP. You'll want to bring your own shampoo/conditioner, TP (if you need something softer than the single-ply super cheap stuff) and even wash cloths given that they only provide you with a couple of bath towels. All of this said, who spends all of their time in the hotel when they're literally steps from 3rd St. Promenade, the beach and the SM Pier? There's plenty to do, and the hotel is fine for a couple of days. Just remember to bring a few creature comforts and you'll be set.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: 1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms are recently renovated with fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway.Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seaview Hotel to your Saves list