We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
Seaview Hotel
1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location and good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights from 26th December .
Very big comfy bed.
Close to everything.
Clean room.was very good for the price.
Will stay again if we go to Santa Monica again.
Lots of great places to eat close by,Bruno's Italian,cheap and good food.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    118
    56
    20
    28
See reviews for
42
150
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here earlier this month. All of the great reviews are true. The rooms are spacious, recently remodeled, and clean. We made reservations on their website and had no problems. It is a super close walk to the pier and 3rd Street. Thanks to another reviewer, we had breakfast at Cora's Coffee next to the hotel and loved it. We also had dinner at Bruno's Italian Restaurant (just down the street from the hotel) and loved that place too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 with 2 double beds and it was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Made a reservation for two rooms, they said its gonna be ok, then they wanted to put us in a double bed room and were more than unfriendly... But you can try your luck if you don't need reliable reservations...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I checked in late and packed it in for the night in this neat bungalow-feel room with a bathroom and a kitchenette. The next norning I walked down to the Santa Monica Pier and looked at the curve of L.A. Inspiring. Next door is Cora's Coffee, where I got breakfast to go. Looking at the menu, there were dozens of things I wanted to try. Easy to get in and out of. Easy to check in and out. The hotel is right next to a JW Marriotte and a Loews, which I am sure are 5 times the amount.

I'll stay here again. My only gripe was that I needed to use my laptop and there wasn't a place to use it so I had to use my lap. Maybe desk sized end tables would do the trick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Quaint hotel 1 block from beach w small, beautiful grounds. Very easy access with Clean, well-decorated rooms. The owners are friendly, attentive & helpful. Has a B&B feel to it. If you like Italian food, you have to try Brunos - a 3-minute walk from Sea View and outstanding food.

We stayed here in late Dec -- off season -- and room was comfortable and warm. We had a fridge & blow dryer in our room.
Very firm, comfortable King bed w/ very nice bed linens.

Only down side to this hotel is very limited parking.

Enjoyed our stay ~~ will be back! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent three days here at the end of October & loved it! The location was perfect, a couple blocks from the Santa Monica Pier and walking distance to Venice. It felt more like an apartment than a hotel, a little beach home away from home. This is the best, and I think the only, way to do Santa Monica on a budget. Not only are the rooms reasonably priced, but the refridgerators in the rooms are medium sized and can fit a good amount of food. If you're looking for luxury you've come to the wrong place. The walls are thin, the street is loud, they don't provide beach towels or beach cruisers. But the rooms are clean, the people are nice, the location is amazing, and you can stay three nights for the price of one. I loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Seaview for a wedding a few weekends ago. Somehow we managed to get their "Presidential Suite." It was very spacious and even had a kitchen! If I had known earlier we would have somewhere to cook, we would've gone to the grocery store or brought food from home. It's a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of Santa Monica and not pay over $200/night. The only down side is -- you get what you pay for. Windows and walls were extremely thin, so you could hear your neighbors and all of the crazy construction on Ocean Ave. They're also very minimal when it comes to shampoo, conditioner, soap, TP etc. Expect only soap and very, very cheap TP. You'll want to bring your own shampoo/conditioner, TP (if you need something softer than the single-ply super cheap stuff) and even wash cloths given that they only provide you with a couple of bath towels. All of this said, who spends all of their time in the hotel when they're literally steps from 3rd St. Promenade, the beach and the SM Pier? There's plenty to do, and the hotel is fine for a couple of days. Just remember to bring a few creature comforts and you'll be set.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#14 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#23 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#26 of 34 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: 1760 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.