We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Lodge Hotel
1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is ideally located right in the centre of Santa Monica. Initially it seems quite expensive, but is a bargain compared to the other nearby hotels.
Our room was relatively basic but clean, and in good condition. The reception staff were polite, friendly and very helpful. Has Wifi.
Better to park in the car park between the hotel and the next restaurant - where there are spaces reserved for the hotel, though may not be immediately obvious (at least was not to us on arrival). The parking immediately in front of the hotel is a tight squeeze to get in to, and risks getting scraped if another resident is not so careful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
24
27
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

If your first priority is easy access to Santa Monica pier & beach, this hotel is a good choice. If your first priority is a nice, up to date room, maybe look elsewhere on the Avenue. The beds are OK, the parking is OK, the air con is OK, but the prices are fairly steep for what is just an 'OK' hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week and had a fantastic time there. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Obviously it's not a five-star hotel, but for what you pay you get a nice place. The staff were super friendly and domestic staff did a good job cleaning my room everyday. It is in a great location to both the Santa Monica Pier and the downtown shops.

Next time I am in Santa Monica I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband, myself and our three teenage grandchildren were supposed to stay at this DUMP for 5 nights, but after only one night we quickly checked out and went to the Hotel California across the street. the 2 bedroom suite was horrible. The smell was unbearable- very moldy. The main bedroom was a postage stamp. My husband had to crawl n and out of the bed from the bottom of the bed because there was only enough room to get out on one side. The shower was out of a "PSYCHO" movie. The rooms were VERY small and between that and the smell we opted to LEAVE the VERY NEXT MORNING. My kids usually don't complain but they said they couldn't stay in that moldy environment and I couldn't stay in that claustrophobic room another night. I am only glad that they took the first nights room automatically because we were supposed to stay longer and they asked me to pay for the whole stay when we checked in late that Monday night. I had not seen the SUITE (Laugh) yet. I was tired and my back was hurting from the long drive from Monterey so I said that I would give them the card the next day. THANK GOD for little favors. We went to check out at 9 am the next morning but there was no one in the lobby so we just left our keys in the check out bin. Believe me, I have NEVER BEEN IN SUCH A DUMP IN MY LIFE. Granted this was not a 5 star hotel but the one across the street, the Hotel California is the same quality of hotel and MUCH NICER AND MORE SPACIOUS and also MUCH CLOSER TO THE PIER AND BOARDWALK - only STEPS away.

Room Tip: There is NO room that could overcome the stench of mustiness and mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel almost everytime I come to the LA/Santa Monica area. I love the simplicity of it and the location is perfect. It is so close to the beach and all kinds of shopping and great places to eat.

The staff is knowledgeable of the area and very friendly.

The rooms have everything I need.

If you are looking for a nice beach hotel this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is just blocks from the Santa Monica Pier. Walking to the pier is perfect. The hotel staff are always inviting and helpful. They have gone through recent renovations that make it a jewel in Santa Monica. You are literally within walking distance of some fabulous restaurants, bars and the Third Street Promenade, all of which you should visit if you are visiting in Santa Monica for more than a day.

Have used the Ocean Lodge for years for visitors who come into town because they always want to stay close to the Ocean on the days I work during their visit. I have never had any reason to consider changing plans for future guests.

Stay, stay, go back and stay again. If you are a tourist in Los Angeles, great place to land because you are located close to everything, especially the Beach.

Room Tip: The beach is the swimming pool and the Santa Monica Pier is there for your kids activities. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Santa Monica is a great place to stay in Los Angeles.Ocean lodge is located just few steps from the beach, right across the famous Santa Monica Pier, 5 minute walk from a nice promenade with shops and restaurants.The lodge has very nice, clean rooms.It's not the cheapest place to stay in LA but it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.