We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Lodge Hotel
1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel almost everytime I come to the LA/Santa Monica area. I love the simplicity of it and the location is perfect. It is so close to the beach and all kinds of shopping and great places to eat.

The staff is knowledgeable of the area and very friendly.

The rooms have everything I need.

If you are looking for a nice beach hotel this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
26
28
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is just blocks from the Santa Monica Pier. Walking to the pier is perfect. The hotel staff are always inviting and helpful. They have gone through recent renovations that make it a jewel in Santa Monica. You are literally within walking distance of some fabulous restaurants, bars and the Third Street Promenade, all of which you should visit if you are visiting in Santa Monica for more than a day.

Have used the Ocean Lodge for years for visitors who come into town because they always want to stay close to the Ocean on the days I work during their visit. I have never had any reason to consider changing plans for future guests.

Stay, stay, go back and stay again. If you are a tourist in Los Angeles, great place to land because you are located close to everything, especially the Beach.

Room Tip: The beach is the swimming pool and the Santa Monica Pier is there for your kids activities. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Santa Monica is a great place to stay in Los Angeles.Ocean lodge is located just few steps from the beach, right across the famous Santa Monica Pier, 5 minute walk from a nice promenade with shops and restaurants.The lodge has very nice, clean rooms.It's not the cheapest place to stay in LA but it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I made the reservation the person on the phone did tell me about the construction going on next door but it stopped at 5PM and started at 7AM and that was not a problem for me. But what she did not tell me was that the street noise is a problem all night long. I wore earplugs but still could hear the loud traffic passing the hotel all night. In addition, there are bright lights outside and no blackout curtains so it is like daylight in the room all night. Lastly, the air conditioning stopped working in the night (it is cool outside but very warm inside...too warm for comfortable sleeping) and I could not get it started again so I opened the bathroom window to get some air in and that worked but only increased the street noise and light in the room.
As the other reviewers noted, this is otherwise just a basic low-end accommodation with a higher than usual price tag for the conditions.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a really lousy hotel. In the middle of a construction site, gravel crowded parking lot shared with a noisy restaurant, dumpy, damp, shabby rooms. Street and neighbor noise all night long. They'd get $65 a night sao webers else, maybe; instead, they charged us $169 plus a parking fee! Bad water pressure too and no one home when we needed towels 15 minutes after checking in. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Since it's not hard to find $350 hotels in Santa Monica, Ocean Lodge should be viewed in its proper context, financially speaking. It seems overpriced yet is lower than pretty much anything else. Perhaps less forgivable than the low-$100something room rates is the $20 parking fee.

I don't mind low-end accommodations. I'm not counting the threads on the sheets. But I would have liked better water pressure.

The main caveat is the ongoing construction. This makes accessing the place difficult and can lead to noisy mornings.

The office people and housekeepers were very helpful and friendly.

If your last trip was to a hostel you'll be fine here, and the location is excellent, but don't even expect Best Western-levels of glamour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in feb 2013, we arrived a little late at 9 pm and there was nobody available in the front desk; the whole office was closed and an envelope was kept with our name on it which had keys and instructions.

When booking this hotel, be sure to consider 20$ per night parking fees ( which we thought was outrageous)

The room itself was no fuss, ok types. It was decent but don't expect any luxuries. The room did not have a microwave. When we entered the room, the first thought came to my mind "Wow that is a lot of money for this room" so all the money you are paying is only for location ( it is upwards of 120$)

But make no mistake, the location of this hotel is absolutely ideal for santa monica beach. Just cross the road and you arrive on the beach.

Note: No breakfast here...

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs otherwise a lot of noise from the nearby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.