We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but not quite what I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, but not quite what I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

This was the very first place I stayed at on my first overseas voyage, and I must say it was a very positive experience. I stayed in a six bed dorm with a shower & the security is excellent, unlike other hostels I have since stayed at. Like some other reviewers, I found that the atmosphere around the place wasn't quite what I expected, considered the location, I would have thought the place would be buzzing at night, but it was actually all pretty quite. I saw a few signs up for some structured activities in the coming weeks, but nothing while i was there. The staff were less friendly/willing to chat than I expected, but did do a good job. But having said all that, this is a $30/night hostel, and if you're just after a clean, cheap, secure place to sleep/stay, this is EXCELLENT

  • Liked — The security was excellent
  • Disliked — Lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    159
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
12
24
165
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

This hostel is similiar to the ones I've stayed at in Seattle and NY. Very dorm like, with some rooms having their own bathrooms (one room for shower, another for toilet; sink is outside). The free breakfast isn't as good as the one in Seattle but it stayed the hunger for a while (coffee was good though). There was a room for others to use their wifi and a corner with internet PCs that accept credit cards or bills. A bit overpriced so I suggest walking down to the Santa Monica Library just a few blocks away. Oh, and the hostel is two blocks from the beach, so anybody who thinks this place is overpriced for a hostel, they're right. But, seriously, you're sleeping in a clean room including a bathroom, with breakfast and a stroll to the beach for $37. Lighten up, people.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

The hostel is good value for money in a great location. I stayed in a room with a TV and queen-sized bed with my son. The room was clean and neat. Breakfast was included in the price. However, the hostel reception staff were a bit cool and bored, and our room was very noisy (it directly fronted a ventilator shaft which rumbled all night long). Make sure when you book that you ask for a quiet room. Otherwise, take your earplugs!

  • Liked — Affordable and close to the beach.
  • Disliked — The service and the noisy room.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

The location of this place is great-on the block between the sea and third st promenade, the main shopping area. There is also a convenient car park over the road, which I was never charged for overnight. The hostel was clean and had a good kitchen, but it just lacked that hostel feel of friendliness and internationality. Rooms were very hot in summer and 4 times I had to trek from the top floor down to the front desk to replace my key card, which liked to stop working. At no time did the grumpy desk staff apologise for this! I would stay here again, for the location, but isn't great when travelling alone.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

Wanted an inexpensive place to stay in Los Angeles and we both had prior experience with hostels in Europe so booked into the facility in Santa Monica. A private room with twin beds cost $78 per night. We stayed 2. Breakfast free but uninspiring. Choice of corn flakes or fruit loops, fruit was canned fruit cocktail, orange juice was bland. Could purchase for extra money yogurt, pastries, etc. The bath was down the hall, but was adequate. 4 washbowls, toilets, showers in women's room. Room spartan with sheets, blanket, towel provided. Room had beds, bureau, no hooks or closets. Elevatored building could accommodate 228. In good area, easy parking in inexpensive garage across street. Plenty of restaurants and shops. Wouldn't walk on Santa Monica Pier alone at night but otherwise felt safe in area. Hostel showed 2 movies per night, had a library, TV room, fantastic kitchen for those who wanted to prepare their own food, common room with piano. Spoke to travelers from Reunion, Brazil, New Zealand, Japan. Most in hostel were travelers, but a few appeared to be homeless and having them there changed the atmosphere. We were more wary than we might have been otherwise. Noisy at night from returning party goers. Earplugs recommended. Overall an OK experience for 2 senior ladies.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Homeless
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

This place isn't bad at all, especially for the price. It's clean and the staff is relatively helpful. However, you are staying at $30/night hostel, so you need to be prepared for a few things. In particular, there's not a whole lot of privacy, your fellow hostellers might be a little bit strange, and the beds are about as comfortable as sleeping on the floor. However, that said, I didn't want to spend a whole lot and I couldn't find a hotel room in LA for under $100/night, so this wasn't bad at all.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

For a large hostel, this place wasn't too bad. There was a big dining area, TV room and library, and only two blocks from the beach and one from the main shopping / dining area, the Third Street Promenade. However, our private room was quite expensive given that the price didn't include breakfast and the bathroom was big, not very clean and down the corridor. The rooms are also tiny - we stayed in a twin for the first two nights and there was barely room for the (smaller than your average single) beds to fit in, although the double room we moved to for the last two nights was slightly bigger. The room was also near the water fountain and so we would get people talking loudly outside our door all night, as well as the noise from the busy 2nd Street outside. No air con either, so it gets pretty hot. Nonetheless, the rooms and the hostel itself were generally quite clean and the staff was reasonably helpful. However, for about the same price we could have stayed in the air conditioned Best Western or the Sea Shore Motel, which probably would have been more comfortable.

Not a bad experience, overall.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from the street and the tiny twin beds
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.