We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel in Santa Monica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool hotel in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel and couldn't have been happier. They actually upgraded us to a king room which was GORGEOUS. Very trendy. It was really close to the Santa Monica pier. The service desk was really really nice. We used their bikes (they waived the fee since it was only an hour) they wanted to charge $25 which is a little expensive but the bikes are really cute. The room is like a Paul Smith ad. They pay attention to every detail. Both concierge were very knowledgeable and personable. I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Chloe M,

Thank you for you five star review. We are all so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please let us know when you will be returning as we would love to welcome you back. Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,

Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    145
    44
    27
    13
See reviews for
105
196
24
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Palihouse is a great hotel in a "can't beat" location - close to lots of restaurants & shopping, and 3 blocks from the beach. It's an older hotel that has gotten the "boutique" treatment while maintaining its original charm. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds & pillows, and big windows that open to bring in lots of light & fresh air. The hotel has a large courtyard where guests can sit & relax, and enjoy coffee or tea from the lobby. Although I didn't use them, bikes are available. The neighborhood is residential and very safe, which was important to me as a woman travelling alone, and I was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go. The staff were all wonderful too - friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There are rooms with full kitchens, which is great for longer visits (2 Whole Foods nearby). I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear M_DuBos,

Thank you for your wonderful five star review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. I am so glad that you found the hotel, staff and location so desirable. We all look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Let me just start by saying....

GO STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

The good:

1.) Service... outstanding! From the minute I arrived at the car valet, to checking in, to having breakfast the next day, to checking out, I felt absolutely welcome and at home. Everyone was exceptionally friendly, welcoming, and genuine.

2.) Decor.... amazing! The minute you enter the grounds, you feel you're stepping back in time. I really enjoyed the pictures throughout the hotel from the same photographer. Be sure to take time to check them out.

3.) Rooms.... fantastic! The rooms are very large, very tasteful, fully stocked with wonderful amenities, beds are comfortable and come with excellent linens, bathroom is large and has been remodeled but has the feeling of the property's original design (as does the entire room itself actually.)

4.) Location.... great! 2 short blocks to an amazing ocean view and only a few blocks to the pier.

Room tip: Ask for room 310. It's a corner unit with a large window facing towards the ocean that provides a great view. (Does only have a queen bed though.)

All in all, a fantastic hotel with excellent service and a great blend of modern upgrades and classic appearance. You can't go wrong!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Sandiegoamc,

Thank you for your wonderful five-star review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just checked out of the lovely Palihouse Santa Monica today and didn't want to leave! One night is definitely not long enough at this historic boutique hotel. First off, I work in the hotel industry in Los Angeles, where four star boutique hotels are a dime a dozen. What I loved about Palihouse is that the hotel feels more like a Mediterranean castle than a historic 1920s apartment building. It was easy to tell that the new owners put a lot of care into restoring the many details that make the building as special as it really is. Although renovated, the hotel still retained its charm from a bygone era that felt more like a beachside retreat from The Great Gatsby than a boutique hotel.

First thing that I loved was the exterior architecture that reminded me of another iconic LA property, the Chateau Marmont. Although surrounded by mid-century apartments, the hotel takes on a character all of its own making you feel a world away from the craziness of the rest of the city. The lobby was beautiful - again, renovated, but without losing its historic charm. The front desk rep (I think his name was Dan) was exceptional and made us feel so welcome during our stay.

We stayed in a one-bedroom residence and WOW can we say space?! Santa Monica hotels are not known for large rooms, so I was pleasantly surprised to see how large the room actually was. Decked out with a full kitchen, spacious living room and bedroom, and tons of closet space, the room was perfect for a family stay. I also enjoyed all the small details that made the room unique: old fashioned books and luggage stacked in random places, custom-made wall paper unlike any I've seen before, Palihouse mugs with signature bird designs, etc.

The hotel is located on 3rd Street, as in the 3rd Street Promenade, which we found to be only a short two-minute walk from the hotel. We loved being so close to everything, but feeling like we were so far away once back inside the hotel. 3rd Street was lovely this time of year all festive for the holiday season.

We were sad to check out after only one night, but we'll be back. I am so glad to have found such a charming place to stay in Santa Monica (especially with 75 degree weather in December!) and would highly recommend it to anyone, especially those needing larger accommodations, or seeking a historic, authentic LA boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear HotelGuy27,

Thank you for your wonderful five-star review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a charming place to call home for a few days! I only meant to stay for one night but I loved staying here SO much that I booked a second night. The ceiling was super high and the layout was adorable. Hats off to the designer. Really delightful decor. The fully equip kitchen chocked full of Dean and Deluca snacks came in handy in the middle of the night. The pillows and bed were super comfortable. I found a nearby parking space with no trouble. The location is PERFECT and the staff were all kind and incredibly helpful. I am changing my Christmas plans to stay here with my adult children. The penthouse is simply gorgeous! With Third Street Promenade just a short walk, I am so grateful to have found this rare gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Marseas,

Thank you for your wonderful five-star review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us! We are so pleased that you found our staff helpful and accommodation enjoyable. Please let us know when you will be returning as we would love to welcome you back.

Thank you, again, and Happy Holidays!

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon just for one night. Great place to stay, easy walking distance to the Pier and main shopping area. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was just lovely, really cosy and clean. Loved the 'preppy' style decor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear IsabelP85,

Thank you for your five-star review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are so pleased that you found our staff and accommodation enjoyable. We are already looking forward to your next stay with us!

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in July 2013. Beautiful restoration of an old hotel. There are not many of these classic LA buildings. My friend in Hollywood lives in a building that's almost identical to this hotel. The way the kitchen, bathrooms and windows are set up.

Beautiful rooms, amazing Apple wifi router in each room. Nice desks. Great beds and bathrooms.

Since it's situated in a neighborhood setting, the hotel is truly relaxing. Just far away enough from the busy section of 3rd st promenade.

If you want a unique hotel experience and almost taken back in time, you should stay here at least once if you travel to Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Junior suite was really nice. If you can get the one with a balcony, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear JAELEEAHP,

Thank you for your four star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.