We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Palihouse Santa Monica is a gorgeous place. We were greeted by two very friendly girls who checked us in - there was a little hassle with our booking - it had not registered on the system so they gave us an upgrade to a suite! It was the most amazing room and had everything you could want: big TV, Apple TV, Kitchen!, walk in wardrobe, and amazing decor. And the location is just a stones throw away from the main shopping area and beaches of Santa Monica. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Magser_Bagser,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and found the room amenities and décor so pleasant. I apologize about the confusion at check in, but I am pleased to hear that we resolved the issue for you. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    126
    35
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
163
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Thames
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a bonus here as we had booked it's previous incarnation (Embassy Appartments) and arrived to find the place fresh done up and looking very spruce and indeed lovely. Obviously we were paying the rate we booked which I gather is significantly less than they ask now since it's new ownership.

For any Brits reading this it kind of reminds me of Soho House meets Babbington House in the way it's done up and it does indeed look fab. Our room(s) was magnificent - big bedroom, living room, dressing room, kitchen but let down by a bathroom/lavatory that it is no bigger than a telephone box - madness. Much more sensible would have been to convert the kitchen into a beautiful bathroom than this poor excuse (bathrooms are important if you are spending the several hundred dollars a night that this place charges).
Onto the service - well this was pretty mixed unfortunately. Smart looking blazered gents behind reception looked the part but were pretty ineffectual at times and just seemed to chat among themselves instead of actually running the place. When we arrived, whilst I was unloading the car they saw my wife struggling with suitcases and heavy bags and didn't come to help her, just turned the other way. Exactly the same happened on our departure. I don't care whether it's their remit or not, they should just bloody offer to help.
We had booked for the four of us and they seem surprised when having seen the room upon arrival we asked where the children were going to sleep as there was only a double bed and had to ask them to go and get a rollaway bed for child one and make up the sofa for child 2. We also only had two towels provided for the four of us so we asked for two more to be told that they had run out of towels currently - $600+ a night, seriously?
Anyway back to the positives, aside from being a beautiful place that will only be enhanced when they get their liqour licence, the valet and breakfast staff were excellent and efficient and always looking to go beyond the minimum (learn from these guys Front Desk blazer staff). The location is excellent - a few minutes walk from 3rd St Promenade and a few minutes walk from the ocean.
If they get the service right this place will be excellent and just about justifying it's premium price. Until it does, it will be poor value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear NicL,

Thanks for your review. We are thrilled you thought your room to be magnificent! We of course would also love much bigger bathrooms in all of the rooms but in the keeping of the historic listed 1927 building, we kept things as is. It does however sound like you were staying in one of the rooms with a smaller bathroom as a majority of the bathrooms are at least 3-4 telephone boxes in size. :-)

I would like to however apologize that you were disappointed with the service from our Front Desk staff and want you to know that we take this feedback seriously and have addressed this with the team as we endeavor to provide excellent customer service at all times.

We hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon so we can prove to you we are worth the extra two stars. We welcome you to email Fernando@pali-group.com prior to your next stay.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved the décor and the staff very friendly. A few problems though: since there is no air conditioning (which is fine), we had to keep our windows open. Our room faced the street and it was noisy. The walls are thin so we heard every conversation and moving around through the night. In the bathroom, there's a little sign asking to hang up your towels in order to conserve water but there were no hooks or towel racks in the bathroom to put them! Had to drape towels across the sink and tub. Was looking forward to sleeping in late but housekeeping started vacuuming by 9am.
The large common area downstairs is gorgeous with a huge fireplace that I would love to revisit with friends for a cocktail (once they get their liquor license).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thanks for your review. We are happy you loved the décor and found the staff to be friendly. We also sincerely appreciate your feedback on the bathroom hooks and have since added additional hooks in the bathroom closer to the tub (there are 4 currently behind the bathroom door which we understand can be easy to miss). We are also reviewing the vacuuming times. Hopefully the liquor license comes sooner rather than later and we hope next time you stay we can offer you a cocktail by the fire place.

Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Palihouse is a fantastic hotel to stay in while you are visiting Santa Monica whether you are working or on Vacation. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the decor and atmosphere are second to none. The situation is perfect, close to the beach and shopping and restaurants and yet so quiet and peaceful 24/7. I enjoyed my recent stay there so much I have just booked it again for my next business trip in December. Relaxed comfort with Style!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Bob G,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in December. Once you make your booking please email Gonzalo@pali-group.com to let him we when we can expect you back.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was definitely a nice boutique hotel. You feel like you are in an apartment, not a true hotel room. I only have 2 major critiques of the hotel 1.) there are no sheers on the blinds, meaning either completely open or dark. This plays into a factor when you have the windows open and want a touch of privacy, but could have been worse. 2.) there was no in room coffee maker. Because this place is in a residential area there was no good place to grab coffee and we couldn't justify paying $5.00 for a cup of coffee, so we just dealt. Overall we had a good experience and would stay here again. For the record, let me make also state that this hotel does not have air conditioning, but it was cool enough so it didn't matter. I would definitely stay at this place again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Waterchick84,

Thanks for your thoughtful 4-star review. We will take into account your critiques on the blinds and sheers and we thank you for your feedback. For future stays please note that we can actually supply an in room coffee maker (or any other needs like a microwave, fan, heater, alarm clock etc etc) – just ask the front desk. We are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! We hope to see you again soon.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Palihouse SM has taken over the historic Embassy Hotel property and redcorated it with great success. Rooms are very vintage and evoke a feeling of summering at the beach rather than staying in a hotel. Hotel grounds are immaculate and staff are friendly. Large common areas based on classic lodges provide a great place to work or rest.

Notes: No pool or A/C on the property. Also, property is still working on gettin its liquor license. As of July 2013, a hearing was set on the permit and the hotel bar should open shortly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear kyle00,

Thanks for your lovely 4-star review. We hope to have you back again sometime soon!

Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is more of a residence than a hotel. For example if you are looking for a business center, fitness center, daily housekeeping or other hotel amenities you will not get them here. What you will get is charming rooms, helpful staff and a quiet place to stay for a good price compared to other choices in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear EPTraveller99,

Thanks for your 4-star review! Palihouse Santa Monica (and Palihouse West Hollywood) were both launched with the intention of offering more of a ‘residential’ type of experience for our guests. Not a boutique hotel and not a luxury residence, Palihouse properties offer the best of both!

Please also note that we just launched a daily housekeeping program due to the high demand. We also offer a delicious room-service menu and great amenities like Apple TV, bikes for rent and much more!

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.


Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.