We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vintage Hollywood Beach Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Vintage Hollywood Beach Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Palihouse SM has taken over the historic Embassy Hotel property and redcorated it with great success. Rooms are very vintage and evoke a feeling of summering at the beach rather than staying in a hotel. Hotel grounds are immaculate and staff are friendly. Large common areas based on classic lodges provide a great place to work or rest.

Notes: No pool or A/C on the property. Also, property is still working on gettin its liquor license. As of July 2013, a hearing was set on the permit and the hotel bar should open shortly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear kyle00,

Thanks for your lovely 4-star review. We hope to have you back again sometime soon!

Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    142
    43
    25
    13
See reviews for
100
189
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is more of a residence than a hotel. For example if you are looking for a business center, fitness center, daily housekeeping or other hotel amenities you will not get them here. What you will get is charming rooms, helpful staff and a quiet place to stay for a good price compared to other choices in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear EPTraveller99,

Thanks for your 4-star review! Palihouse Santa Monica (and Palihouse West Hollywood) were both launched with the intention of offering more of a ‘residential’ type of experience for our guests. Not a boutique hotel and not a luxury residence, Palihouse properties offer the best of both!

Please also note that we just launched a daily housekeeping program due to the high demand. We also offer a delicious room-service menu and great amenities like Apple TV, bikes for rent and much more!

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.


Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old building and grounds. Recently purchased and renovated. Inferior location compared to most properties; three very long blocks to beach and miles from the Pier. We booked a "Classic Suite" advertised at "300 sq ft". It was the smallest single room I have ever stayed in. (And that includes many in Europe) We are talking Small) two feet around bed. Suite of what? No room to sit, the closet and the bathroom was so small you couldn't turn around in them. Hugely over priced. Extremely high parking rate and ridiculous three figure pet fee were hidden and more than most rooms. Amenities were laughable, no tissue "we don't supply that" in room, cheap, toiletries, outrageously priced many bar. There is apparently no management on site. I will say that the staff was very good, but could do nothing to alleviate the ripoff. I got the credit card bill and they added items we still don't understand. It appears that the new owners are trying to pay off the renovation in the first month. If you decide to stay here, make sure you understand the actual room size and all the extra fees before you book. The best properties in Santa Monica are only a very few dollars more., Pity for this beautiful old Embassy Lady.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spent a happy two days here and enjoyed the cool breezes from the beach through our corner studio's many windows. With so many wonderful restaurants nearby, we didn't get to use our fully furnished kitchen. Roomy with plenty of closet space. Loved the furnishings. The hotel was once residence apartments for the famous. Architectural features abound. There is character and history in this unique property, all in a fabulous location. Wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to PaliHouse if we find ourselves near Santa Monica in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear SM4339,

Thank you for your lovely five star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful sea breezes and our furnishings. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Happy to stay someplace that's not the typical gray minimal decor that's become so overly popular. Beautiful quiet neighborhood and charming accommodating staff made our brief stay wonderful. The bed was soft and luxe and we the morning breeze through the open windows made waking up a treat. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear onejkm,

Thanks for you wonderful five star review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the wonderful Santa Monica sea breeze. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope you can stay longer next time!

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Yes, I would stay here again, but not at the new prices. The staff is friendly and helpful and the service is excellent. But guests received an email just prior to arrival to the effect that maid service would be limited to every third day, unless the guest cared to pay $50 a day. What were they thinking???

Santa Monica rarely needs air conditioning, so the fact that the hotel didn't install it is not a big deal. Better that they left the structure as it was, spectacular.

Just two blocks from Ocean Avenue and Palisades Park and from Third Street Promenade, the hotel is located in a pleasant residential neighborhood which is reasonably quiet. The location is IDEAL. But parking is a challenge, and the previous owners gave out free permits, permitting guests to compete for the few spots, or to pay to park in a public garage. The new valet parking service costs $36 or so per day.

Our room was spacious, which was its saving grace. If you are artistic or visual though, prepare yourself. Wallpaper, mostly white with reddish jellyfish-like things. Carpet, gold. Drapes, a dark navy. Couch, brown. Poufy round backless seat, pink. I count five colors, none dominant. I moved the most disturbing furnishings into the closet. Your bed might have a headless set of antlers above it. The goodie basket contains men's and women's undies and condoms for a price. The new decorator tried hard to be hip and precious but was merely precious.

The previous owners had an exquisite palace-sized Persian carpet in the lobby and a grand piano for the occasional virtuoso guest. There was no wifi in the rooms then (a bummer), but the upside was that the guests had to spend time hanging out in the lobby. It was easy to meet people and chat. Apparently, the new owners are trying to pub-up the lobby. The paint color is nearly black, and the bellmen and valets are costumed like British schoolboys.

I think the rate for a studio suite is now $450 - $500 a night. If you need parking, add on $30+. If you like your room cleaned more than every third day, add on $50. If you burn the candle, add on $65 more. The hotel has many great qualities, and in spite of the visuals our stay was a pleasure.
But the cost will make us think hard before returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear KatitaM,

Thanks for your four star review on Palihouse Santa Monica. By the sounds of your review, you have stayed at the property when it was the Embassy Hotel and Apartments and we honored your previously booked rate to join us to experience Palihouse Santa Monica.

The design aesthetic of the Paligroup properties is certainly not for everyone. The previous design of the Embassy was not for us.

We are thrilled to hear the staff was friendly and the service was excellent and will pass this on to our team.

We do hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

P.s: Due to the high demand of daily housekeeping at the Santa Monica property we now have this available daily at no extra charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel that the new owners apparently are trying to pay for this month. We prepaid over $300 for a room that barely holds the bed, a bathroom that only a very small person can fit in and a closet with a two foot rod. While the staff is very friendly, the general feeling is gouge and rip off. $38 parking, $125 per night for a small dog; nowhere are you told this. How about a candle on a table that if you light, they charge you $65. $10 sm Evian water. We ended up paying over $500 a night for this when we could have stayed at say Shutters or Fairmont for same. Oh yeah, no air conditioning

Room Tip: A room here is worth $200. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear NormanSF,

It appears you were an old Embassy guest and we honored our previously booked rates in a classic suite prior to our property redesign. Palihouse does not claim to be for everyone and just for your records we charge market rate for our guest rooms and amenities, for instance: the 1oz candles at Shutters are $28 and ours are $65 for 6.9 oz. Parking at Fairmont is $33 plus tax parking at Shutters is $38 plus tax. Additionally, this is a 1927 concrete structure with operable windows and has no need for in-room air-conditioning - so much so that we burn our fireplace in summer.

Best regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.