We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old fashioned hotel in great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely old fashioned hotel in great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My daughter and I had 2 nights here - we arrived at 11am from a 14 hour flight from Australia and were able to check right in and had been upgraded to a delux suite. The room had just been redecorated and was very clean and spacious. Location was fantastic with only 2 blocks to the beach or Third St Prom. It is an older building and had a lovely atmosphere. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    145
    44
    27
    13
See reviews for
105
196
24
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. We stayed on the second floor. Room was really nice and large. Kitchen was well equipped with fridge, stove, cutlery and most crockery. Room was clean and cleaned each day. Bed was quite firm. Bathroom cold water tap did not run at all and toaster in kitchen did not work but apart from that, was happy with room. Reception wasn't too helpful any time we had to deal with them so we tried to avoid them. Elevator is very old and antique and quite difficult to get in and out when you have two people trying to get in and out with suitcases. I thought the room and building was really nice and would most likely stay there again only due to how pretty the building is and the size and lay out of our room, it certainly wouldn't be due to the service. Locality of building is really close and handy to down town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Delightful 2 bedroom apartment only one in complex very very spacious for family of 4 adults
Televisions lounge and 2 bedrooms meant we never on top of each other
Superb location on third st with very short stroll to the promenade
Kitchen facilities and the second bathroom an added bonus
Would recommend embassy to all

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Not your average hotel but a great place to stay in Santa Monica, the position is excellent, on Third Street and just a few minutes walk from the main area and 15 minute walk to the pier. The hotel itself is 'quirky' nice size rooms, very clean and if you are staying for a few days has an excellent kitchen area with full size, cooker and fridge. If you need wifi this only works in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My daughter (14) and I stayed at this classic hotel for 10 days until March 28, 2013. A unique little oasis of charm - inside and out - and only $165/night!
Unfortunately, "renovations" are already underway, and judging by the paint color swatches on the magnificent lobby wall, it's not going to be a pretty sight. Obviously, it will be way pricier too. Well, at least you'll all have your wi-fi..
Thanks to Jessica for everything during our stay, and to Alexis, who literally lent two hands on our last morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently stayed a second time at this lovely, Spanish-style hotel just a couple blocks from the Pacific Ocean. We had a nice studio of maybe 500 square feet. Great mattress, nice bedding, attractive drapes, new appliances in the well-equipped kitchen, and fashionable wall coverings. As a well-built old building, internal noises were almost non-existent, and street noise was not objectionable. Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

We would gladly keep this at the top of our LA favorites list. However - the Embassy is shutting down next month, and reopening in June with a new name and we were told much higher room rates (about 50%). I'm sure it will still be a charming small hotel with distinct character. Different than nearby Santa Monica accommodations. But alas, paying $350 or more a night will be out of our league.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is different in that you feel as if you're a guest in a well-maintained home. It has an old elegant look about it i.e. not modern by any means. However the apartments are not typical holiday apartments as the rooms are the size of permanent accommodation with a separate kitchen, and tons of cupboard space all over the apartment. Though I prefer more modern accommodation, if the rooms were upgraded I would not fault it.
Parking is a bit of an inconvenience, but you will eventually find some.
The winner is the location in that the area seems quite residential and safe, and it is within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach and the famous Santa Monica Pier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.