We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes ahead for this lovely lodging?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Changes ahead for this lovely lodging?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently stayed a second time at this lovely, Spanish-style hotel just a couple blocks from the Pacific Ocean. We had a nice studio of maybe 500 square feet. Great mattress, nice bedding, attractive drapes, new appliances in the well-equipped kitchen, and fashionable wall coverings. As a well-built old building, internal noises were almost non-existent, and street noise was not objectionable. Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient.

We would gladly keep this at the top of our LA favorites list. However - the Embassy is shutting down next month, and reopening in June with a new name and we were told much higher room rates (about 50%). I'm sure it will still be a charming small hotel with distinct character. Different than nearby Santa Monica accommodations. But alas, paying $350 or more a night will be out of our league.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    135
    38
    24
    13
See reviews for
95
176
24
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is different in that you feel as if you're a guest in a well-maintained home. It has an old elegant look about it i.e. not modern by any means. However the apartments are not typical holiday apartments as the rooms are the size of permanent accommodation with a separate kitchen, and tons of cupboard space all over the apartment. Though I prefer more modern accommodation, if the rooms were upgraded I would not fault it.
Parking is a bit of an inconvenience, but you will eventually find some.
The winner is the location in that the area seems quite residential and safe, and it is within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach and the famous Santa Monica Pier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at these wonderful apartments in January. The apartment was spacious and we were delighted to discover that we had daily maid service. The building is stunning and much has already been said about the lobby and beautiful courtyard. New owners have taken over and are in the process of refurbishment. Hopefully they have taken note of the valid comments made on TA about the lack of wifi access in the rooms, loud and leaky heating. Parking was a bit difficult now and again but we always found a place within a short walk and it is free! There are plenty of boutique and modern hotels in the area and I hope the new owners recognise that the Embassy’s usp and charm lies in its old fashioned ambiance won’t interfere with its character too much. Location is terrific – an easy walk to all the bars, restaurants, shops and beach.

A special mention for the Embassy’s other key assets - the front desk staff Sean, Josh and Thea who were always helpful and pleasant. We will go back for sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the embassy hotel after being recommended by friends. We were more that happy when we arrived as it met our expectations.
We had a 2 bedroom apt that was huge!! 2 storys and lots of space. We loved the old world feel of the place too.
Its in a great position close to shops and beaches (walk to the pier).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were on our honeymoon after just being in Vegas for 6 nights, so ready to slow it down. I found this hotel on the internet and it sounded perfect for us and i wasn t disappionted when we arrived. Built in 1927 so yes old and quirky(the lift or elevator is hiliarious) but a lovely building. Great location, residential really, close to shops and restuarants. Parking wasn t a big problem but maybe we were lucky as always managed to find a space within 25 yards of hotel. The bestman and his girlfriend refused to stay in there hotel around the corner (due to the hookers using it by the hour!) and had to book into a resort hotel. There are some very expensive hotels around here but believe me , you don t want to stay in a cheap one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I loved this hotel. It's a fabulous building, and yes..its old. So, if you want perfection and shininess, don't stay here. It didn't feel like a hotel, it felt like you lived in Santa Monica in your own place. Fabulous location, so close to everything yet far enough away to be peaceful. Staff were friendly and helpful, but no in your face which I liked. One tiny improvement was a small fridge in the room would have ben good, just a tiny one, so you could keep a cold drink in it for the morning. Other that that - awesome! Oh, and the maids/cleaners they did such a good job, out room was spotless and cleaned and refreshed each day. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for sharing your experience of The Embassy with so many! It is so much fun to host guests who love and appreciate The Embassy as much as we do.

As you said, we don’t have all the bells and whistles the more expensive, high end hotels in Santa Monica have to offer - and they don’t have the great rates, 1920’s charm and hospitality The Embassy has!

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Santa Monica!

Thea Majure
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a classic Santa Monica hotel and well worth a stay. The hotel is really well located to the beach and shopping, but still in a quiet part of town. The rooms are huge, we booked a 1 bedroom suite which was perfect for our family of 4. Parking is not ideal, although it is free, you need to find a spare space within 2 blocks of the hotel for it to be free, with the pass supplied by the hotel. The staff are very helpful, especially Thea who knows the area well. Breakfast at Urth cafe is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for sharing your experience of The Embassy with so many! It is so much fun to host guests who love and appreciate The Embassy as much as we do.

Your kind comments go a long way and we really appreciate your thoughtful, descriptive review of our hotel. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Santa Monica!

Thea Majure
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;