We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was true 1920's Hollywood! Filled with authentic character. Very clean and spacious. Beautiful foyer and gardens. Large beautiful windows and well appointed kitchen. Bathroom although freshly painted was very small and dark . Lacked storage for toiletries. Bath has been re surfaced a few too many times. Tastefully maintained interior although prints and artwork could be updated. Would definitely stay again. Absolutely beautiful location , shopping and lovely restaurants just down the street.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for sharing your experience of The Embassy with so many! It is so much fun to host guests who love and appreciate - as you put it "the 1920's old Hollywood" - charm of The Embassy as much as we do.

Your kind comments go a long way and we really appreciate your thoughtful, descriptive review of our hotel. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Santa Monica!

With best regards,

Thea Majure
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    130
    37
    23
    13
See reviews for
90
172
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Four fantastic nights in an elegant old property.....Such a "period" feel to it....I felt as though Bobby Darrin or Frank Sinatra could walk through the door any time!!

Our suite with kitchenette was simply fantastic. There is no wifi in the guestrooms, but it was very comfortable sitting in the lobby catching up on the odd email.

So close to great shopping, the beach, Santa Monica Pier....I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for sharing your experience of The Embassy with so many - It goes a long way! And it is so much fun to host guests who love and appreciate The Embassy as much as we do, and I am so happy it worked so well for all of you!

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Santa Monica!

Best regards,

Thea Majure
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in December and we have to say that the location is perfect. It's really just 2 blocks away from the main strip. The hotel lobby reminds you of an old aunt's house, warm and cosy. However, the deluxe rooms itself are dated, small and wifi is only available if your room is nearest to the lobby, which in this case,we were lucky. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and nice. They provide a parking permit for you if you decide to rent a car. Overall, it was a nice experience and we didn't have much to complain about.

Room Tip: You might want to try something other than a deluxe room cause it wasn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the special charm of our 1927 building - and the wonderful location!

We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,

Thea Majure
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel during our stay in Santa Monica. The location was perfect only 2 blocks from the main strip which is filled with shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is in walking distance to the pier and beach.

The hotel itself is incredible. The elevator and the reception area is full of character and history. The rooms are simple and comfortably dressed, but are large for the price. It is very peaceful and quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable.

If I was to visit Santa Monica again, I would stay here without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and for sharing your experience of The Embassy with so many! It is so much fun to host guests who love and appreciate The Embassy as much as we do, and I am so happy it worked so well for you!

As you said, we don’t have all the bells and whistles the more expensive, high end hotels in Santa Monica have to offer - and they don’t have the great rates, 1920’s charm and hospitality The Embassy has!

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Santa Monica!

Happy New Year,

Thea Majure
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our second stay at the Embassy. The location is ideal for seeing West LA and Santa Monica at their best. Lots to walk to, and the kitchen in our studio was great for making the most of the amazing Santa Monica Farmers Market and the nearby Whole Foods. It's a little threadbare in places, but the rooms are large, light filled and quiet and if you love the Spanish Colonial architecture that was de rigeur in LA in the 1920s, you won't find any better example. High ceilings, lots of tile, gardens and huge windows. The desk staff is a little on the homey side, too -- it's just a couple of folks and if you have a problem at night or on a holiday, you need to call someone off-site to come fix what's wrong. However, the staff are really helpful and friendly, and cleaning staff works to high standards. It has a real European feel, and if you are looking for all the perks of a five star hotel, this is not your spot. But to get a taste of what west LA is really all about and to be able to walk or use mass transit to get around, you will love it. Not a bargain,, but reasonable.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel, facing west, on the second and third floors have AMAZING views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for coming back to see us again and for this wonderful review. It is so much fun to host guests who love and appreciate The Embassy as much as we do, and I am so happy it worked so well for you!

As you said, we don’t have all the bells and whistles the more expensive, high end hotels in Santa Monica have to offer - and they don’t have the great rates, 1920’s charm and hospitality The Embassy has!

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Santa Monica!

Happy New Year,

Thea Majure
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great location but that was about it! The rooms were very average, our heater was VERY noisy (to the point where we turned it off and slept in the cold!) and it also leaked and staff attitude was less than ideal. Also no fridge which I found unusual for an apartment. We also asked for a taxi to be ordered but instead got a driver that charged us $45, instead of a taxi for $15! Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

OK, so I don't get all the rave reviews. I booked here for 2 nights based on them. Sure, the building is historic and quaint and the location is great but the warm fuzzies end there. We arrived to check in at 1:30 and no one was at the desk. We waited till about 2 for someone to show up to check us in. Once we got to our room, we realized there was no thermostat so called down to the desk because low temps were in the 30's. Oh, yeah, there is a radiator. But not turned on and no instructions on how to do it. The guy at the front desk came up and said he had to empty the water in the radiator and then turn it on. OK, another 30 minutes later, heat issue solved. But why is that plate under the radiator? Does it leak? Ok, let's talk about the carpet. Filthy and stained. Decor of the room? Absent! Check out time is 11 am. While getting our things together to go to check out at 10:45, we get a phone call asking us when we are checking out. Never in all my years of travel has this happened to me. Once again, quaint and good location, but everything else lacking. Will never go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.