We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming rooms but with limited services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Santa Monica)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming rooms but with limited services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This clean and well-maintained property, built in 1920, has a lot of charm. We stayed for three nights in a studio suite, which was more like a small apartment. It had a huge kitchen, a large bathroom, plenty of closets, and even a small dressing room. One drawback was that there were a few stair steps up between the sleeping area and the bathroom, making this property (at least the room we had) probably unsuitable for mobility-impaired guests.

Location is very convenient for walking to the beach and the pedestrian promenade, which is a good thing because parking is a major problem.

Note that the front desk is not staffed, and the outside doors are locked (guests are given a key), after 8:00 PM. I'm not sure what accommodation can be made for late arrivals.

Room Tip: Rooms are not air conditioned, so you will likely want to leave a window open to catch a breeze. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the surrounding area! We have a simple procedure we e-mail to guests for them to follow if they check-in after 8pm, as well as an on-site manager who any guest may call if problems are experienced after 8pm. We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    150
    44
    27
    13
See reviews for
108
205
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel is situated quite a way from Santa Monica Pier, at least a 30-35 min walk and whilst only 10 mins walk from the beach it is at the 'quiet' end. We would have preferred to stay a bit closer to the centre of the town and the pier. However it is only five mins walk to 3rd street promenade with shops, bars and restaurants, Quality of accommodation was average, very basic furnishings, deluxe room was particularly disappointing, but thestudio suite was very spacious and light with full kitchen facilities which was very useful. Staff were helpful but clinical. A plus is that parking was free on adjacent streets, you are provided with a parking permit on check in. No air con and free wifi in the lobby only.

Room Tip: Reserve a studio suite if you can afford to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending the Studio Suite. It is much more spacious than the Deluxe room and has a full kitchen. Though we are in a residential neighborhood, we are glad you were able to explore the beach 3 blocks from the hotel, the promenade with its many shops 2 blocks south of the hotel, and the pier 6 blocks south and 2 blocks west of the hotel. While we have Wi-Fi only in the lobby, there is a modem with Ethernet cable provided in the room that provides high speed internet access. We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is in a nice historic building. The foyer of the hotel has a beautiful character, in a spanish style and the rooms are spacious, pretty and comfortable. The price seemed very good value considering it is such a great location and the size of the rooms. The location is perfect: walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants (max 2-3 block for everything!) and even though the property is a short walk to the Promenade and the beach, there is very little traffic in the area and the neighborhood is quiet at night. There’s a WholeFoods market 2 blocks east too.
Our very clean studio room was actually a very large room with vintage king size iron bed, desk and sitting area with large french doors opened to the patio. The bed was very comfortable, there was room to unpack and the bathroom, while small, had everything and was very clean. No A/c but plenty of windows so this was not a problem. Small and reasonably well equipped kitchen with small dining table - perfect for meals bought at nearby Wholefoods market. Wi-fi is only in the lobby but in the room you have wired connection.
There is a free street parking. The hotel doesn't have own parking places but they give you a parking permit and you can park your car around 2 blocks.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who are going to stay in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the spacious guest suites and our wonderful location! We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Even better than described and very handy to the Santa Monica shopping strip, also very quiet and free WiFi , would recommend but don't expect a modern hotel and as it has no air con I would expect the room to be very hot in the peak of summer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed the location and the quiet! Although we do not have air conditioning, each suite has high ceilings and large, screened windows that, when open, provide a constant sea breeze to cool off the rooms. We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Absolutely beautiful building with gorgeous gardens and rooms. Really wish I had stayed here for two nights rather than moving to Beverly Hills. The apartments are one block from the beach, a 5-10min walk from downtown Santa Monica. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and had a balcony overlooking the lovely garden and entrance. The location was fantastic in a quiet residential area near to the beach, shops and restaurants. The service staff were friendly and helpful.Would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the charm of the building, the great location, and the staff! We hope you will spend the entire stay with us the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently stayed at the Embassy with family on our US vacation. This place is wonderful for families who want a bit of extra space and not be all crammed into a hotel room. Being a family of four with older kids(12&14) it was great to be able to get a very reasonably priced two bedroom two level self contained apartment so close to the beach. It really is like living in the area being very private and quiet but only a short walk to 3rd street shopping mall and Santa Monica beach. The place is old but that is a huge appeal for the charm and character of the place. It is impeccably clean with beautifully cared for gardens. There is no airconditioning but there is always a good ocean breeze to keep things cool although we did use the fans of a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel I am glad you and your family were able to take advantage of the speciousness of our Two Bedroom suite and that the sea breeze provided a natural cooling for the unit! We hope to provide our guests with a feeling that they live in Santa Monica while they are here and are glad you felt that way. We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Vintage style building with antique elevator. 1920's-like apartment building turned hotel rooms. Spaciuous, clean, unique. EASY walk to eats and beach. Convenient place to stay for LA visitors wanting central location with easy driving access to anything. Day Manager was very friendly. Parking quirky, but not hard. Get a front-facing, courtyard room on upper floor! Very cool.

By the by...see sunset from rooftop lounge at oceanfront Shangri-la hotel. Another vintage charm.

Room Tip: top floor, courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the retro charm of the place - and were able to explore the lovely surrounding area! We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#4 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#10 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.