We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool retro in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palihouse Santa Monica

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool retro in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Vintage style building with antique elevator. 1920's-like apartment building turned hotel rooms. Spaciuous, clean, unique. EASY walk to eats and beach. Convenient place to stay for LA visitors wanting central location with easy driving access to anything. Day Manager was very friendly. Parking quirky, but not hard. Get a front-facing, courtyard room on upper floor! Very cool.

By the by...see sunset from rooftop lounge at oceanfront Shangri-la hotel. Another vintage charm.

Room Tip: top floor, courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the retro charm of the place - and were able to explore the lovely surrounding area! We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    126
    35
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
163
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a deluxe hotel room - ie no kitchen facilities. But with many nice places to eat within walking distance, this was fine. Lovely to stay in a US hotel with windows that open! Cooling sea air was all the air conditioning I needed. I didn't have a car but didn't need one to see all I wanted in the area: most of it easily walkable. The surrounding residential streets were delightful. The ocean a 5 minute walk. If you are staying more than a couple of days and don't have a car it's worth doing some Internet research on LA buses. Once you know where to catch them from they are a cheap and easy way of getting to more distant attractions, and you see a lot en route. Oh and theres a WholeFoods market 2 blocks south and 2 blocks east full of delicious stuff, if you tore of eating out. The Reception staff are very helpful but of you are a Brit, remember that we only nominally speak the same language - be calm and patient when communicating and all will be well!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in Santa Monica! We appreciate the kind comments. I am glad you were able to enjoy the surrounding area and were able to navigate the bus system to get to other destinations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a perfect place to stay in Santa Monica! Because I booked online, I really had no idea what to expect. When I first laid eyes on the Embassy, I knew we were in for a treat. This beautiful hotel hearkens back to the early days of Santa Monica. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms spacious, pretty and comfortable. Great location close to Third Avenue and the ocean. Friendly, helpful staff. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in Santa Monica! We appreciate the kind comments. I am glad you appreciated the spacious rooms and the charm of our 1927 building. We hope to see you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This 1928 building has been preserved largely in its original state, with original quality fittings, on a surprisingly quiet street just 2 blocks from the ocean and from the 3rd street pedestrian shopping district. Our room, 120, located on a corner on the first floor was light and airy. No A/c but plenty of windows so this was not a problem. Small and reasonably well equipped kitchen with small dining table - perfect for meals bought at nearby Wholefoods market. The gardens are immaculate and a pleasure to look at. Not cheap (over $200), but then central Santa Monica is not a cheap destination.

Room Tip: This is a no-smoking property including the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, Front Office Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the special charm of our 1927 building - and the wonderful location! We hope you will come stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Monica.

Warm Regards,
Thea Majure
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect Santa Monica location. Walking distance to the beach, pier, shopping and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The price seemed very good value considering it is such a great location and the size of the rooms. There is a free street parking which is great! The only downside was finding a park in the area proved to be very difficult during peak times. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in Santa Monica! We appreciate the kind comments. I am glad you appreciated the spacious rooms and were able to take advantage of the surrounding area. While street parking is free, when it is scarce, there is a public garage 1 block from the hotel that is $14/nt. We hope to see you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location close the 3rd Street Promenade and free on street parking were bonuses. The size of the bedroom was good and the bed was comfortable.

The hotel is in a nice old building, but we found there was a musty, damp, old smell in the room. There was no air conditioning and the bathroom was a bit dated. Thought the price paid over $200/night is quite expensive for the quality.

There is a coffee machine in the room, but no where to buy food/drinks within the hotel. Also, the reception desk isn't manned 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the surrounding area and its many attractions, as well as the size of our guest rooms. My apologies for the musty smell you experienced in your room. While we do not have a/c, we do have spacious rooms with high ceilings and large, screened windows that, when open, provide a constant sea breeze to cool the rooms. Thanks again for the recommendation and we hope to see you again in the future!
Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia, Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Embassy Hotel Apartments located on the 3rd street, close to ocean, restaurants and shops.
The personnel very friendly and helpful.
It was announced that wi-fi working only in the lobby but it worked in our room.
Reception is not working 24 hours and they give you a key from the main door but I would not say that this is the minus.
But there are no safe boxes in the rooms (we didn't ask on reception) and it can be cause inconvenience.
The hotel doesn't have own parking places but they give you a parking permit and you can park your car around 2 blocks. But you can always find a place.
If not there is the paid parking place within 5 minutes walk.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who are going to stay in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassy, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed the surrounding area and its many attractions. Although the Wi-Fi usually only works in the lobby, we do have a cable modem with an Ethernet cord in each guest unit as well. Also, while we do not have in-room safes, we do have a safe at the Front Desk guests can use during their stay. Thanks again for the recommendation and we hope to see you again in the future!
Warm Regards,
Joshua Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90403
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. The building has been meticulously maintained and remains renowned for its elegant exterior ornamentation, lush courtyards and gracious lobby. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palihouse Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palihouse Santa Monica to your Saves list