We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Nice spot ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Albright

The Albright
258 Santa Monica Pier, Santa Monica, CA 90401
+1 310-394-9683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Description: We are a family oriented seafood restaurant.  As the longest running restaurant on the Santa Monica Pier, we value our city, locals and the many visitors who frequent our establishment.  We offer a classic setting while providing a modern twist to casual seafood dining.We are committed to serving home-made, fresh seafood, fast.  Although we have added a modern touch to the food and facility we pay tribute to the roots of the restaurant, maintaining its down-home, new-England style, crab shack setting.  We are seafood on the Santa Monica Pier, a place where every generation can break-bread and create traditions in our timeless setting.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“ Nice spot ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

One starter, two mains, two soft drinks and one wine = $73.00
Food OK but price based on three things - location, location, location.
I'd visit again - for the location

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A little pricey, but not really for CA and the pier. Fried shrimp and fish in tempura style batter with homemade tarter and cocktail. Very tasty with a great view of the pier. What fun!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fish n' Chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I wasn't impressed. I thought the fish n' chips had a really weird smell to them but I didn't complain, but didn't eat it either. The sangria was good but way overpriced. The patio is nice to sit on and relax.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun eating on the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I'm not a picky eater, I tend to choose and rate restaurants more for their location and view. This one was good. We wanted to spend the 4th of July evening on the pier so this location was just what we wanted. It's nothing fancy- you walk up to order then they bring the food to your table. Being the 4th it was very crowded and hard to find a seat, then get the previous guests' dishes cleared. But I didn't care. We had fun people-watching and enjoying the warmth from the heat lamps on the patio. I would eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Rough and ready”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped here to re-fuel whilst walking out along the Santa Monica pier. It's a bit of a tourist trap, and caters for a fairly low common denominator. You have to go to one counter to order, and another to pick up your food, although they seem to serve some stuff to the tables. Drinks are in plastic glasses (which I hate). We had seafood chowder and a caesar salad, which were just the right side of OK. The tables are outside on a shaded deck, and are small and crowded. Not a place I'd bother to go back to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albright also viewed

 

Been to The Albright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.