We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Burger

Pono Burger
829 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401
+1 310-584-7005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: Pono Burger believes there's only one way to make a burger - the right way. Chef Makani's philosophy is simple: use organic and farm fresh ingredients for a handcrafted burger made with integrity that above all, tastes great. We also take reservations for parties of 8 or more. Come in to see us soon!
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had the dig burger but with the turkey rather than beef and I can say hands down it's the nicest burger I've ever had, the staff are friendly, it's centrally located, food is responsibly sourced. Just go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent burger with organic materials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The best burger ever had! If you visit Santa Monica this place is a must if you want to eat a classic American burger with organic materials or the burger choice of the chef. The staff is very kind and general the place is great value for money.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good burgers, but a disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The burgers we had were very good, but the food is not the only aspect when eating out. There was a general lack of attention to detail:
- notice was not taken of a request to leave the salad off one of the burgers
- our table was wobbly and we had to request that it be stabilized
- one of the knives had a sharp splinter of metal jutting out of the handle and had to be changed after one of our party got stabbed in the hand by it
- the toilets were not particularly clean.
So,the food was good but a disappointing experience because of above items, and it wasn't cheap either.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best burger ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We've been on a road trip through the US and had many burgers along the way. Without a doubt this was the best one! And to top it off they also have the best sweet potato fries! Can definitely recommend this place for the food, the drinks and the very kind staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing sauces!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Loved the atmosphere at Pono Burger, (it was a little loud) but the burgers were well worth it! We tried The Paniolo - it had a kona coffee bourbon barbecue sauce (make sure you get a little extra) topped with onion rings, yum! The Kuawa Crunch had a spicy guava rum sauce that was amazing. Great beers, and an awesome staff. The ingredients were fresh, unique and cooked to perfection. I highly recommend checking this place out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pono Burger also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Pono Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.