We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - good burger!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Burger

Pono Burger
829 Broadway, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)
+1 310-584-7005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 594 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Organic, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: Pono Burger believes there's only one way to make a burger - the right way. Chef Makani's philosophy is simple: use organic and farm fresh ingredients for a handcrafted burger made with integrity that above all, tastes great. We also take reservations for parties of 8 or more. Come in to see us soon!
No. VA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OMG - good burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Fun little place with a cool vibe - but the burgers are amazing!! They offer a few seasonal creations which they were happy to change up a bit. I ordered a turkey burger on one of their special creations and it was amazing! Battered onion rings on top stacked like a sculpture, some rockin' aged cheddar and bacon, topped off with a coffee (or espresso?) BBQ sauce. We also ordered sweet potato fries that came with a homemade sauce, also amazing.
Service was great, the atmosphere sufficiently LA-ish.
Highly recommend for a beer and burger!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    29
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmen, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food with a cool vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had the Sassy Wahine, the Turkey Burger and Russet fries and everything was AWESOME! The atmosphere was cool and allowed us to chat easily. Very relaxed but phenomenal food at a good price. Definitely worth a stop - wish I lived closer!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best burger in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Delicious burgers and excellent sweet potato fries! All organic ingredients, grass fed beef & brioche buns. Kuawa crunch burger is great. Nice and spicy!
Great service and vibe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's a burger, but what a burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Having arrived in LA in the mid afternoon, needed beer and food. My wife's grandson wanted a burger and luckily we found Pono. I am hard pushed to add to the superlatives from other reviewers. Very tasty burgers ( classic was great, with roasted peppers, grandson love the Kuawa) and the russet fries were so good we got extra to take out. Great , friendly service, great food and good prices. Go there!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Makani C, Owner at Pono Burger, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I'm glad we could help you out, Marc. Thanks for the kind review! We're lucky you found us as well. We pride ourselves on doing things the right way, so I can't wait to show this to our team. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

All the best,

Chef Makani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Highly overrated but still good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We'd read such great reviews that perhaps our expectations were too high. The burgers are quite good but no better than many other "gourmet" burger places.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Owner at Pono Burger, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Since you had read such great things about our burgers, it's disheartening to know we fell short of expectations, Peter. We pride ourselves on our organic, wood-fired burgers and unique, flavorful toppings, so we hope to still make your list of go-to places to grab a delicious burger! Thanks for leaving your thoughts and hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Chef Makani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pono Burger also viewed

 

Been to Pono Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.