We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Fun!!! Great casual option when in SM.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Cha Chicken

Cha Cha Chicken
1906 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1044
310-581-1684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Fun!!! Great casual option when in SM.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great fun and food in SM. get there early and try everything. You order at the counter and eat in what feels like a third world beach hut (a good thing) and I gave it a 5 for atmosphere.Lines can be long and tables fill up fast but great for people watching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    64
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Watchung, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice laid back place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It feels like this place should be located on the beach. The food is very reasonably priced and the jerk salmon was excellent. My wife had the coconut chicken, but was not crazy about it. It is BYO, so be sure to bring a bottle. You order at the window and they bring you your food, which came out pretty quickly. The staff was all very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“delectible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was at Santa Monica Pier recently and walked by Cha Cha. It looked familiar and it was due to one of the hosts from the Food Network. I decided to take a look at the menu and try one of their specialites. I chose their carribean shrimp platter and was not disappointed. It had 5 jumbo shrimp bbq with lots of tasty spices with a nice heaping of black beans and rice on the side.
The price is based on market value, but was worth the 15 I paid for it.

If you're in the neighborhood, give this place a try. I hear the jerk chicken is even better!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate here wih friends for the first time the other day and really enjoyed it. The service was very laid back and it can be a bit off putting but stick with it as the food is cracking. Don't bother with the Cajun fries though, they were the only disappointment. Also don't forget to pick up some grog to drink while you're there as its a BYO.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great jamaican curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

As I drive from valencia ca for the first time to Santa Monica beach I see this place I bit pricey but overall worth it paid $15.95 for curry chicken rice platoons coconut chicken and drink very fufilling

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Cha Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Cha Cha Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Cha Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.