We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for non-veggies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Michael's
1147 3rd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403
(310) 451-0843
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #248 of 561 restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Eclectic, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wilshire Blvd.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great for non-veggies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a really nice, upscale restaurant that offers great outside / inside dining. Place was packed when we arrived which suggested good things. The wine list was extensive and the wait staff very knowledgable about the food and drinks. My scallops were cooked beautifully and the smushed potato sides a real treat. Only criticism is that the menu had zero main options for vegetarians. Therefore my wife had to make do with a slightly larger risotto appetiser, which was disappointing, as we looking forward to a nice 3 course meal

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    22
    12
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner in MIchael's lovely courtyard! The food was tasty, the service was friendly and the owner stopped by every table to greet diners. The outside of the restaurant is deceptive - there is a beautiful courtyard hidden in the back. The whole dining experience was enhanced by the calm setting and attentive service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love How Michael's Has Been Updated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Michael's is a high-end restaurant that is walking distance from our apartment. It's the sort of place that you wear a blazer to if you're doing dinner. The food and the service is first-class with respect to dinner.

What my wife and I are more excited about is the way they remodeled the front portion of Michael's to entice visitors to their lounge. It's a cozy and inviting environment with $6 drinks and food.

The food they offer in the lounge isn't some sort of microwaved pizza. Instead, it comes from the same chef that designed the dinner menu and is top-drawer. Too many dishes to describe, but think everything from Tapas to (yes) designer pizza.

The house wine (both red and white) are notable, as is the Allagash beer they serve as the "house beer".

The wait staff pays close attention, yet isn't in your face every moment. Come back 2 or 3 times and they'll greet you as long-lost friends. Our favorite waitress even remembers what we prefer to drink and the kind of food we normally choose.

Fnally, the lounge environment fills up around 6pm but isn't too loud to think (like most other bars). It's very comfortable and varies from tall chairs around tables for 4 to a "living room" with couches and settees. The rooms fill up but there always seems to be one last place to sit when you get there.

From Friday night drinks to our anniversary dinner later this month, we love going to Michael's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The restaurant was empty since we got there when it opened for lunch, but the beautiful dining room patio in the back makes for great atmosphere. The corn soup is very good, but note it's $19! We enjoyed it but probably will not order again. The steak was cooked perfectly, and my husband ordered the scallops which were very fresh and flavorful. The portions were great - not too much or not too little. Come here for a nice California meal, you will definitely enjoy! We will be back when we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous Patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

No place more relaxing for a fine meal than the back patio (and only the back patio) at Michael's. Among the best steak frites on the planet. Consistently outstanding dining experience. There is a reason it has been a Santa Monica staple for years. If only they had a more friendly corkage policy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.