We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice away from waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Border Grill

Border Grill
1445 4th St, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2308
310-451-1655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Border Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Enjoy upscale, modern Mexican food in a vibrant setting at Border Grill, the hip, urban cantina from Chefs Mary Sue Milliken and Susan Feniger, of Bravo's "Top Chef Masters" and Food Network’s “Too Hot Tamales”. Presenting the bold foods and flavors of Mexico, Border Grill has established a new standard for gourmet Mexican fare. With a menu of complex authentic dishes based on the home cooking of Oaxaca and the Yucatan, Border Grill takes Mexican food to a whole new level!
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good choice away from waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner here on a recent visit to Santa Monica. We first visited the pier, had a drink at a rooftop bar at sunset, checked out the Third Street Promenade (lots to see on a Friday night) then headed to the Border Grill. Great choice if you aren't set on eating with a ocean view and happen to be in the mood for Mexican. Highly recommend the lamb tacos and the shrimp tacos. The turkey tostada, which featured a lot of healthy greens, was a large portion and was fantastic. The Mojito was good, but the splurge on the Cadillac Margarita was totally worth it! Atmosphere is casual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    43
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So. California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“brunch deal is amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

had brunch at border grill.unlimited mamosas small plates of great food.we had a blast and the service was excellent

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnetonka. minnesota
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A Milliken & Feniger production”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mary Sue Milliken and Susan Feniger are two of the finest chefs in the country, let alone L.A. - which is why the Border Grill is always a "must visit" when we're in Santa Monica. The atmosphere is laid-back and fun, the place is kid-friendly, the portions are generous. Not what you'd expect from a place that serves very high quality modern, authentic Mexican fare.
Handmade tortillas, homemade chips and salsa, it's all good.
Don't miss: Grilled turkey with cracked black pepper sauce, plantain gratin, and seared greens.
(Their Happy Hour is one of the best values in Santa Monica.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and were lucky enough to enjoy three of their margaritas: the Cadillac (voted #1 marg in LA according to our server), the blanco, and the cucumber jalapeño. All were terrific! Free housemade chips and four types of salsa made for a great start. We enjoyed the Peruvian ceviche, the Baja ceviche, and the three taco plate. Everything was fresh and tasty, although the Peruvian ceviche was somewhat over salted. Our server was friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend the Border Grill for lunch or happy hour if you're in the Santa Monica area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rather average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went here because my daughter loves Mexican food. This was disappointing, quite pricey for food that struck me as ordinary although portions are generous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Border Grill also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Border Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Border Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.