We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Capo
1810 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3216 (Santa Monica)
310-394-5550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 514 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Pico
Transit: Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.
Description: Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list of over 130 bottles as well as a full bar.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Grilled octopus was amazing, wine was delish. Waiter was so helpful. This place is small, but the flavors are huge.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia US
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, deafening acoustics.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wife's 65th birthday. Some of the best Italian food I've had here or in Italy, but don't go there for a quiet dinner. Lovely interior. Service good but not fantastic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Top 10 Italian in USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Make your reservation now. And if you want to go back-to-back nights, make them now since you will not get in otherwise.

Located a block from Shutters, Capo is a tiny farmhouse restaurant that does Italian right. The secret: A little wood-burning fireplace in the back corner in which they put succulent meats, Wagyu chicken ($42 and most amazing), even Romaine lettuce leaves for the Caesar salad.

Tables are small and close together. Bar is very small and seats 6 or so with no waiting room. But none of that matters. Crusty bread basket with EVOO is even amazing.

Wine list expensive so ask your server for a good value. In addition to the chicken, we had the whole Bronzino done in the fireplace that was off the charts.

Very expensive but with the quality of food and service, you understand and pay happily only wanting to come back for more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what I thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The ambiance is super cute and cozy but we went for the steaks and it was so salty we couldn't eat them. The pasta dishes are all great though so I definitely recommend them over the meats. Best ravioli and risotto.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is an amazing place if you can afford it. Also tends to be a much older crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I went here for my birthday dinner and the service was great. However when the check came we were all a bit shocked at how expensive everything turned out to be. Very small restaurant, very quaint, great staff, great wine selection, overall not the best place to celebrate a 30th birthday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capo also viewed

 

Been to Capo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.