We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Via Veneto

Via Veneto
3009 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-5317
310-399-1843
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Via Veneto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pier Ave. & Marine St.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal, the staff and atmosphere. Was suggested by our hotel (Shutters on the beach) and they couldn't have been more right. We would suggest this restaurant for anyone looking for something special....hidden gem if you ask me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    7
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks
1 review
“Freshest Seafood so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was really in the mood for seafood. I started with the calamari salad. Everything was perfectly cooked and tasted incredible. I still can’t seem to get my scallops to taste right when I cook at home, but these were awesome. Not to mention, the calamari was not chewy….. It’s just a great combination altogether. For the main course I ordered the spigola, their fresh fish on special. Impeccable. My waiter Carlo was very sweet and convinced me to order dessert (okay, so there was no convincing) I went with the panna cotta. Honestly, it was so good I wouldn’t mind coming to Via Veneto for this alone. Can’t wait till next time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Armed with a recommendation from our hotel concierge we dined at this fine restaurant. They modified the menu to suit our taste and the Syrian sea bass fillet was like butter smooth. Just wonderful and attentive staff. Worth the tip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the best meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stephania took care of us here! I can not say how delicious and fresh everything was! This was indeed one of the best Italian meals I have had in a while.
The place is small but you feel right at home in the bustling atmosphere. So many things to choose from and it was all top notch with wonderful staff!!
Mille Grazie
p.s. try the daily ravioli!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Were it not for the company dime, I probably wouldn't dine here, but it was a gastronomic delight! Table for 7, and we decided to go "family style." The server had so much to tell us about the specials, that I wondered why they even have a menu. We started with cheese, olive, grape and date platters: delectable; red and white wines were served; then we were served a tasting of homemade raviolis: pumpkin, lobster, asparagus. We all thought the pumpkin was the unexpected winner. For entrée, two of us had the grilled brazino. Others had pasta, lamb, steak--I cleaned my plate. The portions were also well measured (not skimpy) considering what we'd already eaten. For dessert, we couldn't decide on the gelato flavors so we ordered all six, as well as the amaretto dessert, tiramisu and another I can't remember. We all dug into them. I was satisfied, not stuffed. Ambiance and service were superb. Fabulous dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Veneto also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Veneto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.