We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT - WORTH A VISIT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Dining Car

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pacific Dining Car
2700 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403 (Santa Monica)
(310) 453 4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #366 of 513 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT - WORTH A VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant, excellent service. You can order breakfast, lunch or dinner at any time. Very attentive and food served to perfection. Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old School Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I liked the name and thought it'd be fun to try over Capital Grille, Morton's, etc. This is a throwback to the 30s & decor won't win any design awards, but it was great. Simple menu, good service & food (shrimp cocktail, rocquefort filet mignon, cheesecake, "premium wine").

Open 24 hours. Price range can be as high as $60.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“The Steakhouse that Time Forgot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is OLD SCHOOL. It is EXPENSIVE. It is GREAT. The wine list is good and servings are generous. There aren’t many cocktails these guys don’t know how to make. The sides are ok. The shrimp cocktail is amazing. The steaks are very good, not quite great, but prepared very well and served nicely. The marbling is good and it is obvious that the kitchen staff has been preparing good steaks for a long time. The atmosphere is classic clubby and is a lot of fun to go back in time every once in a while. Its just too expensive to justify doing a lot. Unless of course you are a high roller Hollywood hotshot like some of the patrons clearly are.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Out of a bygone era, you will want to go for the atmosphere and stay for the home-cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I went with a friend for a late-night breakfast and was blown away by the atmosphere of the place. Opened in 1921, this restaurant prides itself on preparing dishes with high-quality ingredients. I wish I could say I tried one of their famous steaks, or ordered something from their impressive wine list, but I didn't. After going out for many drinks, my friends and I were in the mood for some home-cooked meals, which is exactly what we got. The food we ordered was very tasty and wonderful, but while the restaurant itself likes to emphasize high-class fare, I would say it's simply well-prepared home-cooked meals made from excellent ingredients.

This restaurant may have a lot of history, but there is not pretension here. I loved how it is still decorated in the taste of a bygone era. A truly wonderful place to slow down, eat some delicious food, enjoy excellent attentive service (thanks, Marco!), and engage in some great conversation with friends. The Pacific Dining Car has generous parking (not sure if they may have valets during the day and earlier in the evening) and accepts all major credit cards. I hope to be able to come back at another time to enjoy some more of their delicious menu, and perhaps to talk to some of the staff there---I bet they have plenty of stories to tell!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That was terrible- Don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just went to eat breakfast there with my family for the 1st time. Waitress opened up tomato sauce and poured it all over my head, cloths and white jacket. Now my hair and cloths are stained with the sauce but instead of him being sorry he said that it was not his fault. As if it was my fault!! Understand that he did not do that intentionally but looks like he had never been taught not to open up the bottle of wine or sauce over costumer head either. Then I had to look for assistant manager till she reacted and tried to partially clean my white jacket with club soda. Eventually I left to go to dry cleaning without even starting my food. The restaurant is very expensive although their service is awful. I talked to the manager of the restaurant and asked him to teach their personnel a better treatment of costumers so this doesn't happen to another person. Definitely it was not the right place to start my weekend family breakfast with!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Dining Car also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Pacific Dining Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Dining Car, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.