We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spanish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cholo

El Cholo
1025 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401
(310) 899-1106
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Spanish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

By far the best Mexican good I have ever had
The blue corn enchalada are impossible to beat
Great service
Margarita ok not that great

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    49
    22
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This restaurant used to be good. But tonight our food came with a terrible surprise - lurking within the green corn tamales was a crumbled up bar napkin. The drinks used to be good. But tonight one of drinks was served in a special glass - a used glass that the waitress just picked up from another table. Another one of our drinks (a margarita) was filled with salt.
The waitress didn't care. The manager didn't care.
There are better Mexican restaurants in Santa Monica. Go to Marix.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went on a Sunday evening thinking it wouldn't be crowded. We were seated upstairs. When walking through it was very crowded with lots of children running around and yelling. Our table was a booth. Next to us was party of a teenage girl. I get teenage energy, but this was over the top. Their parents did nothing to control it. Our server was very apologetic and our food was good. Otherwise it was a terrible dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Better than average - friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the original El Cholo in downtown L.A., so we tried this Santa Monica location. Nice decor and friendly service. My wife had a appetizer plate as her meal and she enjoyed it. I had the chili Colorado which was very good. Basic rice and beans come with it. Good margaritas and plenty of chips and salsa. Valet parking is $4.50, so look for street parking. Good food and fun place to, solid 4-star in my opinion.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great service, so-so Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stopped in after seeing some comedy in downtown Santa Monica. We had a large party and came in right before the kitchen closed on a Sunday night, but our server was incredibly sweet and didn't make us feel rushed at all. In fact she made us feel relaxed, encouraging us to take our time. The decor is cute and colorful.

I had a corona and then split the tortilla soup ($2) and the filet tacos ($15.75) with my boyfriend. The soup was pretty underwhelming, really thin broth and just a few pieces of chicken and avocado floating around. Not really satisfying. The filet tacos were good though, and more fresh tasting than you usually get in Mexican restaurants (maybe because we're in California?) I love how it comes with yummy black beans instead of refried beans. The steak had a nice red sauce drizzled over the top.

It is definitely better than a lot of the casual Mexican food I've had, and fresher. Service is great. But that soup was really disappointing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cholo also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to El Cholo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cholo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.