We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Roku

Sushi Roku
1401 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401 (Santa Monica)
+1 310-458-4771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Roku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 594 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Santa Monica Blvd. and Ocean Ave.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good sushi, but a little expensive. The waitress made us feel like we werent glamorous enough for her, but she was still helpful and service was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    79
    35
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The sushi here is amazing, and the service was really good! It is a little bit pricey, but well worth it. The restaurant is a little bit loud, but not horrible. Overall, if you are a fan of sushi, you must go to Sushi Roku!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun, busy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Highly recommend the salmon carpaccio - pricey but delicious! All of us, including our 12yo picky eater, loved everything we ordered.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good sushi and desert at a cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited for the second time and would go for a third time. We had a varity of sushi rolls and they were very good. Not the best I had, but very good. The atmosphere is very upperclass and the service is good. As the desert we had the cream bulee and this one was much better then I expected, it was really really good. So yes a nice place to visit when you are over in Santa Monica.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Overpriced Decent Sushi with Unprofessional Waitress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Perhaps is just this Asian waitress with the extra short skirt whom I won't name after careful thought. She was more of talker than a listener. At a pricey joint like this, I expect more from the waiting staff because, 20% was far too generous for such poor service.

If you happen to read this, we are the couple who had a 7:00 reservation on July 12th, and were seated in the last booth table in back by the window. After we sat down, she asked my husband what he wanted and then walked away without even greeting me or looking at me or asking me what I might want to drink. Then the drink came; she served us our bottle of sake, and then chatted up with my husband about the menu and if we are familiar with this place without looking at me as I was looking up from the booth in hope that she might acknowledge my presence. Nope, as she turned around and took 2 steps out, I raised my hand to ask her for green tea. No apology given for her misstep. (Left me thinking perhaps that I looked frightfully ugly or intimidating or something...). Minutes later, the other couple joined us for our reservation. So we ordered Omkase, which we normally do when at a reputable sushi place. So courses of platters came, and she explained what they were. Food were over all good, but the bitter experience makes the taste of the food bitter. Would I go back, maybe. If I do I would certainly request a different waiter should she happens to be assigned to our table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Roku also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Sushi Roku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Roku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.