We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Asian Fusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinois on Main

Chinois on Main
2709 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-4007
310-392-9025
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chinois on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 561 restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
410 reviews 410 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was really good. The decor was interestingly cute. The bathroom was super blue. Blue everywhere. The service was good. I ordered the salmon which was to die for with the soba noodles. My favorite was the dessert which was the creme brulee which they bring out 3 different kinds on a Chinese spoon, one chocolate, one caramel and one vanilla. They were so delicious!!!!!! The Chinese salad was good but I thought it needed a more citrus flavor. All in all, I'll be back. This place is a bit on the expensive side but it was super packed when I came on a Fri night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    42
    25
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved the menu, the location...it was just great. But best to go with a few people so that you can share plates. Unusual menu and great blend of flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We expected more being fine dining and a Wolfgang Puck restaurant. The presentations of our dishes were beautiful, however, my salmon was uncooked (my server caught it before I did and whisked it back to the kitchen). My direct view for the evening was near the hostess stand where I watched the hostess on her smart phone. The worse part, however, was just before leaving when I went to use the restrooms (which are down from the open kitchen) I caught a kitchen staff throw a piece of food in his mouth from a plate that had been bussed from the dining area! That ruined the whole dining experience and I would never go back or recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic upscale LA Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What else can I say, but Chinoiserie continues to to deliver great food, service and sophistication. Hate the plastic placemats! The bamboo ones were classier, but the duck, short ribs and cod are to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Faded Glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went here 20 years ago and it was amazing. I don't think that they have changed a thing since except the food was hit or miss and VERY expensive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinois on Main also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Chinois on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinois on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.