We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Mexican food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gilbert's El Indio

Gilbert's El Indio
2526 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1829
(310) 450-8057
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reliable Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I visited Gilbert's El Indio back in January looking forward to some decent Mexican food. I had been at this restaurant 3-4 years earlier and remembered being OK. Not much has changed. Decor is the same--a little on the dark side. Service is good. The food quality is perfectly fine. Not the best Mexican food and far from the worst. Rice a touch overcooked and the beans could be seasoned better. The pork was nicely seasoned and tender.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
“Feels like home, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stopped in here with parents and friends of the family (party of 6) last week. Welcomed by the staff and escorted to table near the kitchen where they set up 2 additional place settings. Great chips and salsa (unlimited) and pickled carrots. Three of us ordered cheese enchilada, rice and beans; one had a tamale, rice and beans, 1 had albondigas and a side salad, and one had 2 beef hard tacos. Everyone was pleased with their meals. Staff are always very friendly and attentive. We've been here so many times the staff knows us by name now and the great food keeps us coming back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My Standard for Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

While I was writing a review for a restaurant in Hawaii, I realized that I should write at least one review for my favorite local food. I have been eating Gilberts food for over 35 years. I dont know anybody who has spent time in Santa Monica, Malibu or West Los Angeles that would not agree that Gilberts is their favorite Mexican restaurant. I personally judge all other mexican food by how close it is to Gilberts. My own favorites are the Extra Super Mule Burrito, the hard beef tacos, and the cheese enchiladas. I have not had better mexican rice. They have several breakfasts that are all super delicious also. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The prices are reasonable. The only negative is the small crowded waiting area, but the food will be served up quick, and you can always have a beer while you wait.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The best Mexican and amazingly consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have litterally eaten at this restaurant in excess of 100 times over the last 20 years. The marinated free unlimited carrots and chips and salsa are amazing and could be a meal by themselves. Try the Ferandos' Burrito for a fabolous and filling (vegan) meal.

The margaritas are so-so and too expensive. if you grab a beer or ice tea, the meal is so cheap. Beware, no reservations and the place will get very crowded with locals like me! The location is 31 blocks from the ocean, with parking lot.

Very authentic and a fun "dive" like atmosphere. Try it and live like a local!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
“The best cheese enchilada, rice and beans ever...and chips and salsa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Have been eating here for more than 12 years. Always feel like part of the family when I come in.

Carrots, chips, salsa and green sauce they give you are great. Portions are large. Burritos are huge!

Was delighted to see Gilbert's recommended by a Delta Air Lines captain in their January 2012 Sky magazine on my flight to LAX!

Their food is great. The staff are great. No complaints!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert's El Indio also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Gilbert's El Indio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilbert's El Indio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.