We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melisse

Melisse
1104 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401
(310) 395-0881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Melisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 11th Street and Wilshire Blvd.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Ambiance, food, waiters and just an amazing experience. If was very expensive so be prrpared to lighten your purse.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    30
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The place is understated and the atmosphere is soft and intimate. And the food is Devine. The menu is a option of courses. Most expensive meal I've had but also one of the best. Each course was superb. I selected the 4 course option, where you could alternatively do a 10 or four hour feast. All in the service impeccable and honestly absolutely worth it.

Let them know if it's a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“10 on a scale of 1-5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I give a 5 only because I can't give a 10. While I will give a 5 to other restaurants as well, the quality of food and service simply cannot be touched. Be prepared to spend more than $200 per, but also be prepared to be pleased you did. Menu will vary, except "chocolate chocolate chocolate" will be available for dessert, I don't think you can go wrong with anything on the menu, but would recommend this dessert.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Booked expecting to be seated within the restaurant...surely part of the overall experience. Instead and despite booking 2 months in advance, we were made to feel like spare parts as we were seated in a sparse private room with one other couple - this room usually accommodates a table of 10-12, and perhaps then would be ok, but obviously recognizing our booking as coming from out of town it was an easy way to add a few more tables for a busy Saturday night - very poor on the owner and mgt! It took around 10 mins before a member of staff even introduced themselves, and a further 15 before our wine arrived (eventually by the maitre'd who had realize the absence of service). Food was good, but for the money nothing that would make me return - plenty of other restaurants at same quality for less. The waiter was as bad as I've experienced in a 'good' restaurant, and i enjoy frequenting similar at least every couple of weeks - aloof inattentive and didn't even say goodbye when he saw us leaving/

This place seems to sell itself on a 10 or 15 course experience (many chefs would baulk at the prospect - how can ur taste buds cope - so is it simply a food compromising gimmick?), and unless you want that and the $160+ per head (exc wine) that goes with it - save yourself the disappointment. This place wouldn't last a minute in more densely populated culinary hotspots.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beyond words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beyond words... The Maitre d' and waitstaff created a very unimaginable stage experience for our inconceivable 5-course act. Wife is a vegetarian who proudly tried and was amazed by the courses created. I happily went more meat-ward and was in heaven. A true hats-off to Chef Josiah Citrin and moreover, his extremely talented and passionate staff.

Champagne is a must to pair with the cheeses - of which was also an amazing selection and display.

Thank you!~

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melisse also viewed

 

Been to Melisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.