We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal with gluten-free options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's by the Beach

Sam's by the Beach
108 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402
310 230-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 573 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Coast HWY
Description: A Mediterranean bistro, featuring some Middle Eastern tastes, run by a native of Damascus.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal with gluten-free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this restaurant for dinner on a Wednesday night, having read good reviews here on Trip Advisor. I emailed ahead of time to check if they could accommodate her gluten-free diet and we were told it was no problem.

We took a slow walk up from Santa Monica pier, which took us about 45 minutes and enjoyed the beginnings of the sunset on our stroll. Arriving at the restaurant on time (having sipped a couple of cocktails next door), we were impressed with the intimate comfort and friendliness of the staff.

We were re-assured about my girlfriends gluten-free requirements and had the items clearly explained to us. We then proceeded to order - tuna tartar for me and the Roquefort salad for her. Both were pleasantly presented and delicious. I had high expectations and they were not disappointed.

For our entrées, my girlfriend had their signature dish of lamb, whilst I had the sea bass which was on the specials board. Both were delicious with two clean plates and full stomachs afterwards.

In spite of this, we were seduced in to sharing a dessert of chocolate mousse. When it arrived, we were quickly told that it contained wheat. However, we could keep it (just for me!) and they would make a special one for my girlfriend without. A couple of minutes later it arrived elegantly presented in a wine glass and absolutely delicious! I think she said it was the best chocolate mousse she'd ever had - and trust me she's had a lot!

At the end of our lovely evening, we paid a fair price for the quality of food we had eaten and left agreeing we would return again some day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    12
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We read about this on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. It was amazing. My friend had the special of lamb chops. She raved about them. I had the veal and could not leave a drop of the sauce. Another person had a steak that she stated was cooked perfectly. We all loved our meals. The atmosphere was fun and comfortable. The olive and rosemary bread was also yummy. I don't have enough good things to say about this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found the place by chance and trip advisored it on our cell phone. Nice reviews. It is nothing to like it that's for sure but what great food. Hands on owner attention is hard to beat. My husband loves Sea Bass and this was to die for as I had to try it. We would send everyone here. Remember no windows and funky old building but great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had the loveliest meal at Sam's recently! Our party of 4 are all sophisticated diners who travel & eat at top-notch restaurants. Sam's is a small, intimate restaurant. The owner is definitely hands-on, circulating graciously around the room. His attention pays off in discreet but warmly impeccable service. The food was outstanding. Excellent preparation and presentation, yet not fussy or pretentious. We needed a little guidance with wine & one of the special evening entrees, and the suggestions were perfect. If I lived in the area, I would come often & bring guests - luckily for me, a family member does live nearby, so I can come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were welcomed by the owner, Sam, on Mother's Day and chose the special Sea Bass as our entree....a memorable meal for us, prepared with care and served with flair!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's by the Beach also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Sam's by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's by the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.