We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Abuse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ristorante di Giorgio Baldi

Il Ristorante di Giorgio Baldi
114 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1104
310-573-1660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 594 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Expensive Abuse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Quite likely the most overrated and clearly the most overpriced restaurant in Los Angeles. Pasty food in miniscule portions, arrogant service, inconvenient parking, crowded tables. Unless you are a regular, you will never be seated on time and will have a table the size of a postage stamp regardless the size of your group. You will be bumped by every waiter that passes as there is no room between tables. Abysmal corkage policy - to encourage you to buy off their insanely overpriced wine list. If you want this much pain, just go to a dentist and ask for a root canal with out novocaine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    14
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Outrageously expensive and worth every penny. My family and I have eaten here often - it's our favorite spot in LA - and every bite has been delectible. There was some concern, after Giorgio' death a couple of years ago, that quality might fall. It hasn't. His daughter has kept his standards at the same high level. The pastas -- homemade ravioli, whether veal or pumpkin or asparagus - are wonderful. The mediteranean sea bas is consitently excellent. The desserts are to die for. And your chances of running into Steven Speilberg on any given night are high - it's his favorite as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

so dark that the stars incognito have their privacy so clubby like everyone knows each other and they are all the movie crowd when they leave the teeny restaurant they get bombarded by photographers....not my bag

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Delicious food, small and quaint, order more than you think you can eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We took our family of 5, including 3 kids under 12 to dinner at Giorgio Baldi. I was a little concerned as previous reviewers considered the service snobbish - I was thinking the waiters would give us an evil eye. But no, we had wonderful service and my children loved the food. One problem for them was that the restaurant was VERY dark, and they like more bright, fun spots. We had a wonderful meal of raviolis, risottos, veal, crab cakes - all to die for. We ordered quantities that we usually do but were still hungry at the end, so had to re-order. The portions are very small, especially the raviolli. The penne imperiale is a very reasonable priced dish and the portion was big, and the veal also was good sized. All other pastas and the risotto fall on appetizer size. It was brutally expensive, but we knew it would be and really enjoyed the food. We almost went back but had tired kids that just wanted to chill at the hotel. I also enjoyed the other customers, although we did not stop a celebrity everyone seemed to be a someone, but in a very easy, casual way! I will stop by this place whenever I am back to LA.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An (expensive) taste sensation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Intimate, delicious Italian on the Pacific Coast highway. Starters and salads were pretty standard Italian fare, nothing special (we had prosciutto with melon and a rucola & parmigiano salad). The pasta and entrees were where Giorgio Baldi shined - sweet corn truffle pasta was a taste sensation - literally used the bread to soak up all the sauce. Steak was so perfect it melted in your mouth. Creme brule dessert was just OK. Recommend sticking to pasta and wine by the glass to experience this restaurant, otherwise you're looking at $$$$$.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ristorante di Giorgio Baldi also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Il Ristorante di Giorgio Baldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ristorante di Giorgio Baldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.