We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean restaurant with ethnic atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lares

Lares
2909 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-2001 (Santa Monica)
(310) 829-4559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 514 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Izumo, Japan
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nice and clean restaurant with ethnic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First visiting to Santa Monica, Our staying hotel staff was recommended the hotel. Though I have not enjoyed Mexican food, I enjoyed Margarita and Mexican dishes combination plate very much. I love the restaurant very much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vada, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice mexican restaurant, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I went by myself at Lares, and I sat down at the bar. The atmosphere and the décor of the restaurant is pretty nice, and looks like original Mexican, with a couple of old guys playing old songs with the guitar. I took a chicken chipotle, which was reported as 'very spicy' in the menu. I didn't care, but it was really spicy, and I couldn't finish it, although I must admit that it was very good. I took a tres leches cake, and again it was pretty tasty. If I'll be around, I'll definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Lares has the best Mexican food on the westside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've been going here since 1987. It is terrific. We go to the upstairs bar and dining room, but downstairs has the same food. It's not easy to find lingua mole (beef tongue in mole sauce) and theirs is spiced very well and has so much depth to the sauce. I love the carnitas, too. They have good mixed plates for those who want a sampling of different Mexican dishes. Tostada is very nice, too. But let's not forget the margaritas! Good and strong. Musicians wander the dining room playing and the patrons are mostly from the neighborhood. I have seen several celebrities dining here, too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Was across the street at the travel lodge. This place has super service that was very attentive without being intrusive. A reasonable price for good food. What more could you ask for when travelling.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“Mexican food at its best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This restraunt has the best mexican food in town! The service is excellent. The waiters are friendly & funny. I would recommend this place for its delicious Birria and Tacos. The meat in the Birria is not to dry or moist it is just right. The tacos are delicious because the meat is fresh as well as all of the condiments on it, and the taco shell is warm and fresh out of the skillet. The prices are excellent considering what the quality and quantitys are. It is a small cozy restraunt with authentic Mexican decor. They also have 2 men who come in and play guitars (which are NOT to loud) at night sometimes. I would recommend this restraunt ( if you like good Mexican food or not) to anyone who has good taste.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lares also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Lares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.