We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, creative food, and knowledgeable, attentive staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tar and Roses

Tar and Roses
602 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica, CA (Santa Monica)
+1 310-587-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tar and Roses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 594 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: SE Corner of 6th Street
Description: Centered around a wood burning oven, Tar & Roses serves up farmers market dishes with global influences.
Portsmouth, RI
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great spot, creative food, and knowledgeable, attentive staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Superb service from Jeff and his busboy/back. My daughter had crab cakes which she LOVED. I and my other half ordered beef carparcio. SUPERB! The two of them ordered fettucine carbonara which they loved and I had the fish stewpot which was excellent. My daughter ordered the dessert they're know for and I had the Sticky Toffee pudding. She REALLY loved mine so we switched. I can't remember the hostesses name....I want to say Yanna, or something similar...but she was very attentive, friendly and pleasant. Valet parking right outside. Great spot with a very nice menu. Do give it a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    60
    21
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Ate here last night after finding a recommendation online and we weren't disappointed. All the food was absolutely delicious, as was the wine; excellent service too. It was great to find somewhere that didn't feel touristy and like a restaurant machine. Very special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It was like we died and went to Foodie Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was one of the best restaurants we have been to...ever! Ambiance, food, wine, waiter and owner...we had a fabulous experience! Our server Jeff was terrific and he helped us work our way through the menu and came up with a great wine to go with our food.
Oxtail Dumpling truly a party in your mouth, and I have never used this expression before!
Octopus skewers only complaint was that we wanted more
Ricotta Gnocchi delightful, light and fluffy great lemon flavor.
Wood Roasted clams were smoky and the beans and sausage went so well with the dish. Had to ask for more grilled bread to soak up all the sauce. Owner brought the extra bread right away and was so gracious! Delightful to chat with!
Mushrooms and cauliflower rounded out our meal perfectly. The Cauliflower was some of the best I've ever had.
Strawberry crostata and a dessert were heavenly!
Wish we could go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in town late and booked at the last minute on trip adviser reviews.
A great ambience, splendid food and a laid back vibe.
Crab cake was 10/10 and would recommend.
My only tip is don't sit in the back room it's a little noisy, however we asked to be moved and our request was actioned with a smile.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed dinner here in early January, and recommend this place! Small, quaint, with good service and good food. Unique wine list!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tar and Roses also viewed

 

Been to Tar and Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tar and Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.