We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern cooking at its best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tar and Roses

Tar and Roses
602 Santa Monica Blvd., Santa Monica, CA (Santa Monica)
+1 310-587-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tar and Roses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 627 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: SE Corner of 6th Street
Description: Centered around a wood burning oven, Tar & Roses serves up farmers market dishes with global influences.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Modern cooking at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

If you're sick of modern cuisine that claims to be tapas but charges $13 for a plate of tiny sausages then Tar and Roses is your refuge. They don't claim to be tapas, however they do encourage you to share and that's what this place is all about. Correctly portioned for sharing with a max of 4 people, delicious modern American cuisine that is innovative but unpretentious and a solid wine list.

We enjoyed the duck rillets and charcuterie to stary. The gnocchi was amazing, very delicate. We also have the fried snapper which was not only delicious but had great presentation. For dessert we had the tar bar, a super rich and dense chocolate bar.

Make a reservation a week in advance if you want to eat at a reasonable time. If you dot have a reservation go at 930, order a bottle of wine and hang out. If you don't have reservations prepare for a 2 hour wait. It's the hottest spot in Samo right now so even if you have a Rez you may need to wait 15 mins but if your coming here to eat quick you're in the wrong place. Prepare to dine.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dudeguykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent resto concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent food in an excelling atmosphere! Menu items for sharing and tasting, Italian fushion. A range of foreign beers on tap, wines of all over the world. The bruchetta's are small pieces of art and delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten-Jan_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our last night of our trip and it was soooo good. I checked it out on tripadvisor before I went and read some of the reviews and agree with all the positive comments just really good food and nice not to eat crappy food when you are away. This is a must if you are in Santa Monica! I am still dreaming about how good the food is.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShonaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff, food, and ambiance in this restaurant were all "just right" which made for a perfect experience. Our party of 5 were well taken care of as we warmed up our table for a later reservation for Toby McGuire. Lots of fun!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank White365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“When it's right: OMG good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was in town for the Golden globes and beyond exhausted, but an LA local recommended we book a table there.Their earliest available was 8:45. We waited and were seated almost immediately, and I personally like the small tight- a la francaise- table seating, that is casual and trendy.
Neither of us wanted a big meal, but a sampling of what they do best, and the menu was intriguing so we let our charming and attentive waiter make some suggestions, and we followed through.
He suggested english peas served edamame style, the gnocchi and pulled prok ravioli. The gnocci and the ravioli were so delicious that we ordered second! the peas were,'ok' but not worth finishing...to either of us.
I finished off with a caramel cake that was really delicious...so.I wouldn't give it 5 stars overall...but those two dishes, the service and the ambiance... a 6.:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank konstantinamahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tar and Roses also viewed

 

Been to Tar and Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing