We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you are looking for a boutique hotel, with amazing service, close to the beach, with great food/drinks and a pool that is just big enough to relax and have fun in, then this is your place. From management down, the entire staff does a fantastic job. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
John H,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy and sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing visit and that you were truly able to experience all of the areas and amenities of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    239
    114
    50
    28
See reviews for
154
396
58
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and we must say it was one of the best experiences ever. The staff were great, really helpful and professional, the hotel was kept in top condition and room was amazing. In particular Samantha from the front desk was brilliant. Always had a smile on her face and was very helpful when needed. Perfect location, perfect staff, perfect experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
CKemal,
First allow me to offer you congratulations to your and the Mrs. on your recent wedding. We are honored to have been able to play a part in your honeymoon celebration. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience during this special visit and that Samantha made you feel so welcome. We do hope to have you back for many anniversaries to come. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Very Nice hotel. Central location across street from beach. However, what makes difference here is the staff. Very well trained. Ritz-Carlton quality. Consistent guest response. Staff sets hotel apart from most boutique hotels.

Rooms are very nice. Good size. Gym and pools however, are smaller than they look in website photos. Pools are size of big hot tub and gym is one converted hotel room. However, gym has a lot of very good equipment. Kettlebells, etc

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
RedsoxFan41,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. Being a Senior Contributor it means very much to us to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you for recognizing our staff as we do truly believe they are what sets us apart from the rest. Our pools are more meant to socialize and refresh in then to do laps. If we do however have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future our concierge would be happy to recommend nearby lap pools that are at no cost to our guests. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Set one block back from the ocean, the Viceroy is an excellent choice for a trip to Santa Monica. I stopped for 3 nights during April and the hotel lived up to its reviews.

The staff were all very pleasant and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. My wife and I were catching a late night flight back to the UK and the front desk were kind enough to give us access to a room for an hour prior to leaving, nice touch!

The rooms are what you would expect, although the air conditioning unit was a bit too noisy for my liking.

The location is central and you are around a 5 minute walk to the pier, shops, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
EmmaAndAgnus,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I am very pleased that we lived up to your and your wife's expectations on your recent visit. We do understand the challenges international travel can present and do everything we can to make this a bit easier for our guests Thank you for inquiring with our team to allow this to happen. I thank you for joining us and do hope to see you again on your next trip across the pond. Cheers.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Viceroy and had an amazing time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and the room was clean and quiet. We are all light sleepers and it was nice to stay in such a quiet room with an amazing room. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Jami D,
Our thanks to both you and your family for coming to see us and for sharing your experience. It's wonderful to learn that you all had such an amazing time. It sounds like we were able to check all of the boxes on your list which isn't always easy for a family traveling together. We can't wait to have you all back. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Once again a very pleasant stay at the Viceroy Santa Monica. Knowing I am staying at the Viceroy makes the 14 hour flight from Australia bearable. Standards are consistently high and nothing is too much trouble for the excellent staff. I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Chris H,
While I do not believe anything can truly make a 14 hour flight bearable I'm happy to know we can ease the pain a bit. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Viceroy. Our goal is to create loyal guests and the fact that you'll literally cross oceans to continue to come see us means so much. We very much so look forward to your next visit.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

From when you arrive till you close your door, there are smiles, helpful, and caring people. Hot water, high water pressure, and a wonderful bed-it does not stop there. The Staff take your vehicle away(offer you bottle of water-nice touch), white towels, and a business center with white heavy paper. You will never feel pressured into the Viceroy process of registration and checking out. Fresh air to be treated lie an adult and not a robot I will stay here again and so will my friends.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are beautiful-for the best experience you should meet James, Matt, and Greg...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was spoiled by Maria in House Keeping, and the staff at the pool, restaurant, and bar all communicate because my special drink, and food were perfect.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Ed K,
I am always thrilled to hear when our guests have an excellent experience but when it's made even better by the service of our team, well that's just tremendous. Thank you for allowing James, Matt, Greg, and Maria the opportunity to look after you while you were with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon and also welcome your friends. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.