We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on our Spring Break for one night. The service was superb from the moment we walked in the door. Jonathan at the front desk went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Was there with the whole family and the kids loved it. Great location. just across the street from the beach and within walking distance to most of the things we wanted to do. Our room was great, clean and had a good view of the Pacific.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    202
    95
    44
    25
See reviews for
117
331
50
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 5 days with some friends. We were attending music venues in LA so it was convenient and far enough away from the hustle of the city. Close to the beach, good dining and the Pier. Room was on the 7th floor ocean front so the views were great.
Staff was friendly and extremely helpful in what ever I needed.
The pool was small and shaded except for one area... More of a social experience than anything. Not recommend for kids in my opinion. Watch out for the overpriced valet parking if you are bringing a car.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently spent three weeks traveling down the west coast from San Francisco to San Diego staying in some fantastic hotels along the way. I can honestly say the Viceroy was the worst of all. The interiors are tired, there was hair in the bathroom, stains on the carpet, curtains and bathroom tiles, grime on the drawer insides. In fairness the staff did their best to upgrade us to something better but by then we just wanted to leave. Stayed one night and checked out ASAP. Also the pool area is tiny and I can't imagine it sees much sun through the day. We didn't stay long enough to find out though!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 5 nights and the location was perfect. It is just across the road from the beach and an easy walk up to the third street promenade and lots of great restaurants. Service was excellent from James the concierge who went out of his way to get us great tickets for the Lakers. We ate in the restaurant and the service and food were wonderful. They offer the mains as a full or half portion which is perfect if you want to try two or three courses but are not starving. I loved the decor of the rooms - the only downside is that it was very noisy in the morning. The doors are heavy and I was woken to people banging them and could hear housekeeping from quite early. I also could hear the conversations of the people next door which was not ideal. One other minor irritation was that on check in we decided to keep one room longer as our flight out of LAX was not until 10pm fully expecting to pay the extra night. We checked out at about 5.30pm and were told that as we are leaving after 5pm we would have to pay the extra night. We were expecting this but had we known we would not have been charged prior to 5pm we would have left that little bit earlier - this should have been explained when we enquired about keeping the room. One last thing to note is that wifi is not included which is always annoying when you are paying so much for a room. Mixed feelings about this one - it is not that it was not good but I would probably try somewhere else next time. I had previously stayed at Shutters on the Beach which is more expensive but perhaps worth the extra.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I are moving to LA soon and recently spent three weeks there trying to get a feel for different neighborhoods. Our stay in the Santa Monica area included 8 nights at the Viceroy so we got to know it quite well. The Viceroy was wonderful, as expected, with lovely and friendly staff, big, hip/modern rooms, great amenities, a nice gym and good food/restaurants. The location is nice - about 1.5 blocks to the beach and a 10-15 minute walk to the Promenade. Easy access to the PCH.

I'd say the only real downside to the Viceroy is the pool area. The pool area is very pretty, but its small with two tiny pools and a lot of shade. There's one small area that gets sun so guests tend to rush to the sunny spot as soon as the soon peaks out. Great for evenings or early morning breakfasts but if you want to spend an hour or so at the pool in the afternoon you've got to be the first one out there or else you better cross the street to the actual beach.

We are a very active couple in our early 30s (no kids) from NYC and this was a great place for our extended stay in LA.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Ocean Ave so you can see the ocean from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Viceroy with my family last summer, 2013. The first thing I noticed was how close it was to Santa Monica beach. It was fantastic. The decor is very modern and chic. We did not use the pools at all because we wanted to enjoy LA but the pools too looked lovely, despite being very small. This hotel is not the kind of hotel to go to and relax by the pool, it is more of a sleep in hotel I'd say.

We had an issue with our booking which was dealt with pretty quickly and got us an upgrade to a beautiful suite! The sea view rooms are completely amazing. I would really recommend them because there is nothing better than waking up to the beautiful beach and palm trees! The rooms were also very stylish and the beds very comfy and big.

My favourite part was the location. Being able to walk to Santa Monica beach in 2 minutes down the road was perfect because it meant in the evening I could run down and snap a picture of the sunset which I have included! Don't miss out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location. Quality food in their restaurant with beautiful outdoor seating near pool. They bring your water after you return form a workout or run! Rooms were clean and well-lit. Don't miss the weekly yoga class that usually takes place outside by the pool. Instructor is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.