We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - nothing disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Albans, near London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous - nothing disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our fourth or fifth visit to the Viceroy Santa Monica and nothing disappointed. The hotel was as glamorous as we remembered, the rooms extremely luxurious and the customer service truly exceptional. It’s not right on the beach, as Ocean Avenue cuts right in front of the hotel, but still provides pretty much instant access to the sea. You can also easily walk around Santa Monica and Venice from here, so no need to have a car every day, which I think is a bonus. If I had to pick some favourite moments they’d probably be sitting outside in the sunny garden eating breakfast and enjoying whisky sours in the bar in the early evening. All served by people who seem to really enjoy working at the Viceroy. On our final day the restaurant staff went out of their way to help me package up some gifts to take home, which was greatly appreciated. We don’t get to LA all that often (maybe every couple of years) but when we do return we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: It's worth paying more for an Ocean View room so you can wake up to a grand vista in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear IdyllicTraveller,

Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your patronage to our property. We can't wait to welcome you back so you can experience our luxurious rooms and exceptional customer service.

See you soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    239
    114
    50
    28
See reviews for
154
396
58
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was in Santa Monica for a raw foods master class and book the Viceroy hotel,
Hip & overcharge with detail modern rococo Immoderately elaborate to complicated for my eyes but I understand the need for a location like this my stay was great the staff very nice and helpful as you expect from a establishment like this would I go their again probably not as I prefer classic line and simple but a great experience no regret. You could see pictures on my blog http://www.maisoncote.blogspot.ca/2014/02/santa-monica-raw-food-class-at-matthew.html

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear maisoncote,

Thank you for your comments and opinion about our hotel. We are happy to hear you had a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel is a lovely boutique property with a very nice decor and funky vibe. I loved the pool area. When I arrived late Friday night there was a DJ playing loud music in the lobby bar. When I went to my 2nd floor room I heard nothing so the sound there is very good. The service was extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the stay. The location is a little farther from the central shopping area and restaurants but all within an easy walk. It is on a busy street and you must cross the street and walk a block and a half to get to the beach. I paid a higher rate and booked a partial ocean view room. Save your money and don't bother because the way it was described on the website was not accurate. I had a second floor room and did not have an ocean view. I did nicely mention my disappointment in how it was described and the rate difference to the front desk and they were very apologetic and did make an adjustment to my rate. That told me a lot about the quality of their management. I had a plumbing problem in my sink for all three days but they did respond to it promptly once I called. Jack at the front desk was welcoming and sweet as was all the staff that went out of their way with great service. For the price, it would have been nice to be on the beach like some of the other properties but I liked the feel of the hotel versus the bigger chain properties.

Room Tip: Do not bother spending more on a partial or ocean view room. It is too far. Higher floor may be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear ellent1,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you found our property to have great service. Your comments about Jack are well received and we can't want to have you back in the future!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Free champagne upon arrival, super cute reception/bar area when you walk in. Pool area was also chic- it was randomly cold the weekend we were there, but I would have loved to sit outside in one of the cabanas. They also offered free yoga by the pool at 10am on Sunday morning (we were out too late to enjoy, but I totally would have if I wasn't dead to the world).

Loved speaker system in room and decor. Small bathroom, but good use of space with vanity area for getting ready. Horrible water pressure, but other than that everything was great.

Tip- I wouldn't spend extra for a room with a view, you could see the ocean from our room, but you could also see the street below since the hotel is not ocean front.

Would definitely go back when staying in Santa Monica- highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Alexis M,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our property to have great decor and be in a great location. We hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've globe-trotted annually for 20 years, stayed at at least 150 hotels and Viceroy will be our most memorable. Yes, the décor is cool but the service is unbelievable - the staff actually cares. Each member will bend over backwards for you and offer you the shirt off his (her) back. My wife was stricken with a kidney infection in Santa Monica and the amount of kindness and care she received was truly humbling. We stayed at Lowes for two nights prior and let me tell you, they really need to take a leaf out of Viceroy's Service and Operations Manual. We'll offer Viceroy praise all day long every day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank for your review and kind words! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular our service.

We hope to see you for many years to come!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The decor is amazing but the service is the best! The rooms are very cool, comfortable beds, but the shower pressure is horrible. Apparently all Santa Monica hotels have low flow shower heads to conserve water. Oh well. We came from NYC to enjoy the view and splurged for a deluxe room on a high floor. It was "okay" - since the hotel is on the busy Ocean Ave, it was hard to enjoy the view with all the noise. There was also a lot of street construction that looks like it's going to go on for a long time. The sound of Jackhammers was a sound we were trying to avoid. We checked out 2 days early and headed up to Malibu. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a cool and chic hotel with a great vibe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear DSMTravel91,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our vibe and service!

Come back soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were in LA for 3 days as part of a family holiday and stayed at the Viceroy. The hotel was tres chic. The concierge was great and recommended a number of good activities. The hotel was an easy walk to 3rd street shops and they provided bikes free of charge.

We thought we would need a car in LA (and hired one from the airport) but if we had our time again we would have caught a taxi from LAX and done the tours with pickup from the hotel. There is a car rental place across the road from the hotel if you need to rent one.

Our only complaint was that we had a room with an interconnecting door and we could hear everything going on in the next room. The air conditioner was also a bit noisy when it came on.

Room Tip: Dont get room with interconnecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Black_Cat_HK,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is well suited for people without a car, as you suggested. We sit in between beautiful Santa Monica and Venice Beach. We do hope to see you again in the future and appreciate your patronage.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.