We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the most enjoyable hotel stay I have experienced to date....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Early, Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hebron, Kentucky
1 review
“By far the most enjoyable hotel stay I have experienced to date....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at the Viceroy Santa Monica in December 2013. The staff was absolutely outstanding, the hotel was exquisite, and the overall service was superior. This was my first trip to Santa Monica and although it was primarily a business trip, I did have an opportunity to enjoy the local area and some leisure time. My room was perfectly pristine, the bed was super comfortable, and the decor was absolutely beautiful. Every single member of the hotel staff went out of their way to assist me with any needs that I had and they were always there to lend a hand or answer questions with each encounter. The staff was very helpful with local taxi service and recommendations for local sights and restaurants. I checked in and out with ease and left wondering how soon I could return for a few days of relaxation. I definitely have Santa Monica and the Viceroy on my mind.....I would fully recommend this hotel!

Elizabeth A.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Elizabeth A,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are truly delighted to hear that this was the most enjoyable hotel stay you've ever experienced. We do hope you will be able to visit us again soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    212
    100
    45
    27
See reviews for
127
352
52
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here in October 2013, the check in was friendly and easy, the room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom. The windows opened so I could enjoy the fresh air and the view of the sea. The gym also had windows that opened. The bar was happening but not too loud for a quiet drink and read. The restaurant, Crest, had an amazing spiced cured pork belly, a great blend of textures and flavours. This has been my best experience in a number of stays in Santa Monica, I will be back.

Room Tip: I had a suite on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear WongaPark,

Thank you for staying with us. To hear that this was the best experience you've had in a Santa Monica hotel makes us very proud. We look forward to having you again!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went to the Viceroy Santa Monica to celebrate my birthday over the Christmas holiday. We were so excited to visit and had friends coming in from across the country to spend time with us. My friend has stayed at this particular hotel numerous times and raved about the property. The hotel itself if beautiful, gorgeous lobby, love the hotel bar and all the amenities. The major disappointment was the outdoor pool... it had been a stretch of 80 degree days in LA and we were so looking forward to lounging by the pool ordering drinks and relaxing. Unfortunately, not known to us, there was a huge tarp covering the ENTIRE pool area. It was like you were in a dome. After asking the front desk if this would be removed for the weekend they were extremely rude and told us no. We should have just stayed @ the Loews where everyone was out enjoying the weather & swimming. I understand things like this happen in the winter but we were still majorly disappointed, so I emailed the manager right when we got home... and we never heard back! 't was a bummer of a birthday and most of all my husband was extremely upset that he spent all this money to relax at a hotel and enjoy the pool when he couldn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
ashley r,

We are thankful to you and your friends for choosing to join us during your birthday celebration. Though you enjoyed most of the hotel we regret to hear how disappointed you were with the pool area. December is usually far from 80 degrees in Santa Monica so we do tent our pool area during this month to allow for holiday parties and events to take place outside in comfort. While this is posted on our website we are truly sorry that you weren't made aware. We understand how this led to your disappointment. While unfortunately I myself did not receive your email I would consider it a privilege if we could discuss this further. You may call me at my direct line at 310-260-7506. Thank you again for joining us and I look forward to opportunity to speak with you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great property, close to beach, close to shopping. Staff is personal and friendly. Beds are super comfortable. Dining is good, breakfast offers smoothies that are the real deal. Always something going on property, fun place to meet and mingle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Michael B,

We understand how difficult traveling for business can be so to hear that you were able to enjoy the activities at the hotel and meet and mingle is wonderful. We also appreciate hearing that you we looked after by the staff and enjoyed all the rest of the amenities. Please let us know the next time you're in town as we'd love to have you back. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was the final hotel in a 6 night stretch of hotels along the pacific coast from Seattle. Was a tiny bit hard to see from street as we arrived as we had not stayed there before, but once we circled the block we found it and was a very nice smooth check-in from very helpful front desk staff. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. Too many mirrors in the bathroom though :-) We were on the 5th floor with decent views of the pacific. It was a 10 minute stroll to the promenade. Amazing sunset on our last night there we watched go down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
beevcat,

We are pleased to have played host to the final stretch of your journey down the pacific coast. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the great photos. The sunsets lately have been spectacular so we're glad you go to enjoy that on your last night. We are also pleased to hear that the staff took great care of you and you enjoyed the room. We are in LA after all so to us there's no such thing as too many mirrors but we'll definitely keep your suggestion in mind. Thank you again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

By far and away one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at on our holiday in California. The service, the ambience and outdoor areas were suburb. With great ocean views and within short walking distance to the town and the beach. Rooms were beautifully presented and the staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Trevor G,

We are truly honored to be considered one of nicest hotels you encountered during your holiday. Thank you for allowing us the chance to welcome you and for sharing your experience. The pleasure was ours and we hope we may have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

First night and so far we feel like we made a fantastic choice. How can you go wrong when you check in and they say Oh you've been upgraded to a suite, sorry your room isn't quite ready may we offer you a glass of Prosecco? Concierges so helpful!
More details to follow!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
NancyG_11,

It is very rare that we receive reviews while a guest is still in house with us. We are so pleased that you are having such a fantastic experience. We are eagerly waiting for more details but please do feel free to contact me personally during this visit if there's anything I can do to help make your stay even more fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.