We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early, Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here on the last 2 nights of our trip through California and from the moment we arrived we experienced first class service throughout our stay. The reception staff were very professional, helpful and friendly and made every effort to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The bar area was perfect, very relaxing and once in there it was very difficult to leave because it was just too lovely! Our room was perfect and with a stunning sea view - it was spotless and we were very well looked after. As for the outside pool area this was beautiful and so relaxing, you would not think you were in LA - it was like its own little sanctuary. The decor in the hotel was very hip and I loved the sophisication and style that it displayed. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends as the location is superb and very close to the beach, pier and lovely restaurants in the area. Thank you for making our stay with you perfect!! Alf & Julie (York, UK)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Alf & Julie,
Thank you for stopping by to see us during your California journey. We are thrilled to hear was a great visit you had. From beginning to end it appears you had a fabulous visit. Thank you for allowing us the chance to show you such a good time. We appreciate you recommending us to your friends but do hope that you'll be joining them when they come. Many thanks.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    213
    100
    45
    27
See reviews for
127
352
52
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed a few nights over the weekend and I was prepared to stay at a top rate hotel. It was definitely that. Excellent clean rooms, a great lobby and bar, and the location is top notch. What I wasn't expecting was the incredibly friendly and helpful service by the staff. Especially at the front desk. They made every effort to meet all of my requests. I never felt rushed or unappreciated. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Oly1kanobe,
We appreciate you choosing to join us at Viceroy. We also are very thankful for your recommendation. We are pleased to hear how welcome our staff made you feel throughout your visit. We are glad to learn that the experience exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a two week road trip through California. The location is excellent - very close to the pier and lovely restaurants, but the hotel is so nice that you won't want to leave. It doesn't look much from the outside, but the interiors, pool area and bedrooms are all gorgeous - very trendy and luxurious but as another reviewed mentioned, none of the pretentiousness that often accompanies these types of hotels. When we checked in, we were asked the purpose of our trip, and when we mentioned that it was our honeymoon, we were immediately upgraded to a beautiful suite with gorgeous views of the pacific ocean and Santa Monica pier. We sat there drinking our complimentary champagne and watched the sun set - just gorgeous. The suite was beautiful and the bathroom was huge and luxusious, with lovely Neil George toiletries. What makes the place truly special though is the staff - Irene who checked us in was so welcoming and after upgrading us called the room afterwards to make sure that it was okay, and when we left, we received a phone call thanking us for our stay. Every person we met greeted us with a smile. We can' wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
IrishHoneymooner2013,
Allow us to again extend our congratulations on your recent marriage. We are thrilled to have been able to play a part in such a momentous occasion. It is wonderful to hear that Irene was able to make a visit that was already special even more so. It was truly our pleasure and we hope to have you back for many anniversaries to come. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just for back from two nights at the Viceroy Santa Monica; the hotel from the outside is kind of dated; the lobby/pool area are beautiful, very trendy. The valet guys are incredible, the house keeper that cleaned our room both days went above and beyond. We had a couple of issues, we were paying $344/night and had purchased a package that included valet, late check out, $75 welcome ammenity & a room upgrade if avaliable. When I told them about the welcome ammenity (had to tell them the first and the second day) they said we didnt book that package; I explained to the girl at the front desk why would I be paying this amount then? I specifically booked this package so that all of those things were included otherwise I would have just paid $285/night. In the end she ended up giving us a bottle of champagne. She asked what time we wanted it sent to our room I said we would be out all day and I would come by or call down later to let her know. When we got back to our room there was a bottle of champagne chilled on ice waiting; it must have been there for hours as the ice was melted and there was condensation everywhere. I wish they would have waited like we asked. Our other issue was that the first day I told them that our shower drain was plugged and when we showered water was up to our ankles. The girl at the front aplogized and said she would send someone up - we got back from our day out, showered and apparently no one had been sent up. So I asked again; and again they said sorry and no one was sent up. We FINALLY got someone sent up on the last day of our stay which was irrelavent because we had already showered for the day and were leaving. This bothered us because when you are paying this kind of money for a room, I want to have a nice long leisurley shower, I don't want to be grossed out wondering what is clogging it and about the water up to my ankles. All in all, the rooms were beautiful, the rooms would have been even better if they would have had patios to enjoy the ocean view. The hotel itself interior wise is beautiful. Fairly close to restaurants, shopping etc. Next time I would try the Shore Hotel - it is right in the middle of all restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Do not bother upgrading to a ocean view room; there is no patio to enjoy it and if you keep the curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
bozzy_10,
Thank you for joining us and for taking the time to share the feedback of your visit. We were disappointed to learn that your experience was only pretty good. We are never satisfied with our guests having a mediocre experience and are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We also regret to learn that your package was not properly recognized. We again appreciate you sharing these details and hope that we may be given the opportunity for a second chance were we may ensure your experience is extraordinary.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I were at the end of a six week European holiday when we arrived at the hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated like long lost friends. The staff are a credit to the hotel and certainly made the whole stay more memorable. Nothing we asked for was a problem. Suggestions of things to do and see. Each time we came back we were welcomed and asked how our day was and they listened to what we had been doing. The peaceful surroundings if the polo area was a real draw card and we used it. We only ate out once as the food, service and surroundings were the complete package.
When we left we got a hug goodbye :)
Thanks for the memories we will be back.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a sea view. The room was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Jacquie H,
Thank you so very much for joining us for the end of what must have been an amazing holiday. Thank you very much also for sharing such a lovely review. The experience you and your wife had is the exactly what kind of experience we strive to provide to all guests. We are very pleased to hear that our staff played such a vital role in this. Thank you for allowing us to help in creating memories and we do hope to have you back again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great hotel with superb LA style and impeccable service; and none of that aren't-you-lucky-be-here pretension that seems to mar so many of the "in" hotels. Spacious rooms (even the non-ocean view ones), excellent food and quite the scene at the pool/lounge. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: ask for the partial ocean-view - you get great light/view and slightly cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
rahul r,
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience and recommendation. We are very pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy the style of the hotel but more importantly the substance which is our service and people. Thank you for recognizing this and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a fantastic 10 days enjoying the marvellous Viceroy Hotel in Santa Monica. The staff were more than accommodating without being over bearing and the service was exceptional.
The location and setting is just about perfect, one block from the beach and a short walk from the busy 3rd Street shops and bars. I would also mention Main Street just behind the hotel which is great for relaxed Southern California restaurants, bars and coffee shops.
We first came to the Viceroy 5 years ago and it was good then, I think now that bit better without being pretentious.
A wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the rear of the hotel, the higher the better as some music at the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
smedley26,
Thank you for coming back to see us after 5 years. The only thing better than being able to welcome back a guest is hearing that we're still exceeding their expectations 5 years later. We are grateful to you and your husband for allowing our staff to welcome you in for the 10 days you were with us. We look forward to you having an even more wonderful visit the next time you come see us even if it is in another 5 years. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.