We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Santa Monica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Early, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Great hotel in Santa Monica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff at the Viceroy were really friendly and helpful. Champagne was offered on arrival and we received a complimentary room upgrade which had a beautiful view of the ocean and across to Santa Monica pier. The room was clean and the decor was fun and bright. The hotel pool area is nice, the pool itself is quite small luckily it wasn't too busy when we were there, so there were plenty of lounges available. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Pier and the shopping mall. We had a great stay thank you! :)

Room Tip: Go for a full ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
NIcola R,
No need to thank us as the pleasure was all ours. It sounds like you had a great experience and that make us so glad to hear. Thank you for joining us, allowing us to look after you, and for sharing your experience.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    239
    114
    50
    28
See reviews for
154
396
58
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Recently my husband and I had a rest in your hotel and wanted to thank you for such a wonderful service and maintenance. It was our first visit to your country, and we were happy. And special thanks to your staff for quality of service and a very good attitude. View from the rooms at the Ocean was amazing! The rest will be remembered for a lifetime! A great place to relax!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
MarinaUfa,
Thank you to you and your husband for joining us on your visit. We are honored to be one of the first hotels you experienced in the US. We could not be more pleased to know that we made such a memorable first impression. We do hope this first visit is not your last and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Finding the Viceroy was a tad difficult it is between two building sites! However, the staff greeted us warmly and the atmosphere inside the hotel was a haven of peace and tranquillity. Our beautiful suite on the seventh floor had a good view of the ocean albeit between the buildings opposite. But unfortunately the room had a lingering smell of cigarette smoke. The staff did their best to eliminate it and because we were there for only two nights it didn't seem worth the hassle of changing rooms. The bed was extremely comfortable and the décor modern and quirky. Loads of storage space. The concierge was helpful and arranged restaurant reservations for us because their restaurant was closed for refurbishing. Breakfast was excellent but lunch was disappointing the salad was drowned in dressing and seemed to be missing some of the main ingredients, this was changed on request for a delicious salmon sandwich.
Previously we had stayed at the Viceroy in Palm Springs and I would not hesitate to recommend it instead of the Santa Monica establishment. The staff at both hotels were outstanding. p.s. we did get a discount for the smoky room!

Room Tip: Stand in the doorway and check the air quality! Smoking is not allowed in the rooms but unfortunatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
esherbelle,
Thank you for your loyalty to the Viceroy Hotel Group and for choosing to visit us in Santa Monica. There is quiet a bit of activity going on in Santa Monica this summer so we are pleased to hear that once inside you were able to escape and relax. Thank you for allowing our staff the opportunity to welcome you in and to take care of you while with us. As we are a completely smoke free facility we do regret that there was any negative impact on your stay from other guest's actions. Glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your room and your experience. We hope to have you back at our property and other Viceroy's in the future.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel within a short walk of the beach. It has a very trendy vibe and is beautifully decorated. Be aware they charge a $15 fee for wi fi, glass of champagne on arrival and tea and coffee in the morning. If you are staying on a Friday or Saturday night they usually have music and a DJ playing until 1 or 2 o clock in the morning. The walls are a little thin we could hear our neighbours the last morning having a good time lol! The staff were very helpful. We would have loved to have eaten in Whist but it was undergoing refurbishment. The food by the pool was very good. Between 4 and 6 is a great time for reduced drinks and cheaper snacks as they have a happy hour. I would recommend this hotel it is expensive but a lot of the hotels in Santa Monica so close to the beach are. For a great meal in Santa Monica without costing the earth we recommend Sonoma Wine Garden and M Kitchen is fab for breakfast with a great pizza place next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
WelshgirlMel,
Thank you for joining us and for your recommendation. Glad you were able to enjoy the pool and our happy hour. The interior of the restaurant is now open and re-launched so we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit it on your next visit. We were pleased however to hear that you were able to get out and explore all that Santa Monica has to offer. Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the Viceroy Santa Monica this past week around the 4th of July. We were hoping for a relaxing beachy weekend, and got exactly that. We had a great ocean view room with a very comfortable bed and ammenities. The service from check-in through check-out was fantastic, and the staff - from front desk to valet to room service to pool and bar waiters and waitresses - were all extremely attentive to our needs. We enjoyed some great pool time - a nice mix of families, and others enjoying fun in the sun with a good DJ mixing music under the palm trees. The bar was great for post-beach h'ordoevres and tasty cocktails, and also a great scene for post-dinner fun. The hotel is perfectly positioned near the beach (1 block away), the Santa Monica Pier (2 blocks away), and centrally located on Ocean Ave right near the downtown Santa Monica promenade. We always love renting beach cruisers on the beach, and had a nice afternoon cruising along the bike path towards Venice with great bars and shops. We also had a delicious breakfast both mornings outside at the Viceroy's restaurant, Whist. All in all, it was a perfect and memorable beach trip that we loved, and we look forward to coming back next summer.

Room Tip: West-facing Ocean view room was really nice, and didn't have any issues with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Marc H,
Thank you and your wife for joining us over the 4th of July holiday. The 4th was an amazing day at the property so we are thrilled to hear that your experience did not disappoint. Next time you join us we'll have to have you try out one of our Viceroyal Cruisers which are our new fleet of hotel beach cruiser bikes. Glad to hear your trip was memorable and we look forward to having you back again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Viceroy for the first 4 nights of our wedding/honeymoon trip to USA and Mexico. We had stayed previously at the hotel 3 years ago and were very excited to return. Our pre arrival contact with the hotel was excellent - James, the concierge, had arranged some restaurant reservations for us.
Upon arrival at the hotel after a 22 hour total journey, we were advised that as the hotel had been fully booked the night before there were no rooms available for early check-in. We were expecting this so stored our luggage and went out to explore Santa Monica. The reason I mention this though is that I heard the same comment made time and time again to other guests trying to check in early when it was clear that the hotel was not operating anywhere near maximum occupancy.
This leads me to the main view of the hotel - it looks great, the rooms are good (albeit small) and the outside area and bar looks super cool. The problem is the attitude of some of the staff who seem to believe that sometimes even acknowledging guests seems way beneath them. A great example of this was at our checkout. We called down at 6.30am to ask for our luggage to be brought down to reception as we had a car booked to the airport at 7.15am. We went down to breakfast, paid our bill and then went to the front of the hotel where our car was waiting - however our luggage wasn't. My partner went to reception and enquired about where they were and was extremely rudely told by a female dark haired receptionist that the cases had been collected from the room and were being brought round to the car. We waited outside for another 5 minutes and went in and asked again. The same charming young lady repeated her statement about our luggage and confirmed again that it had been collected from our room. Well, what a surprise - the luggage was still in our room! Eventually the situation was resolved by a helpful bellboy. This young lady needs some customer service training sharpish!
So overall, the hotel still looks great but the service is on the whole, exceptionally poor and compared very badly to all the other hotels we stayed in on our trip - a good example being the fabulous Mondrian in West Hollywood. We will be back to Santa Monica but sadly, not to the Viceroy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
LittleLiability,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We were very sorry to learn that we did not exceed your expectations during this special visit. Please know that we are always happy to allow our guests to check in early if rooms are available. Especially those traveling 22 hours. Though the hotel may not have seemed busy I can assure you we have very high occupancy in the summer months. We also regret to hear of your encounter with luggage and the service upon check out. We take nothing more serious than service and appreciate you making us aware. Thank you for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I didn't feel this hotel lived up to expectations.
Good points: I liked the room, I loved the fact they give you a complimentary glass of Champagne on arrival that is a nice touch but unfortunately I felt they ripped us off at every other opportunity.I know that everywhere in Santa Monica is expensive but price does matter and they were just pushing it I felt by a couple of dollars for everything on the menu.

The food was quite good not spectacular and very expensive. On the night we stayed there we went down to the bar the bar staff didn't greet me or even look at me I asked my boyfriend if he had seen a drinks menu and the guy behind the bar plonked one in front of me not even so much as a hello. He then proceeded to have an in depth chat with another female member of staff about his weekend, a little inappropriate we felt as the bar was practically empty and we could hear everything they were talking about, bearing in mind he had said less than three words to us. I then had to inquire for myself about dinner and they sent us out to the restaurant where we sat and waiting for someone to attend us no one did so again I tracked a member of staff down they weren't busy there were about three other tables occupied. Just not good enough.

Earlier in the day we had sunbathed by the pool we felt the atmosphere was uncomfortable.
I think value for money and service come hand in hand I am happy to pay if I feel like I am getting a service above and beyond what a three star hotel is offering. This was not the case here really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Sarah N,
Allow us to first extend our apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. We pride ourselves on service above anything else, as you can see from most of the reviews on this site. To learn that you did not experience this is disappointing. Your feedback though is very much appreciated as we are always challenging ourselves to improve. While we understand that we may not have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future we do thank you for staying with us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.