We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally great customer service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early, Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finally great customer service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have come to accept that even decent customer service is a thing of the past. Not at the Viceroy. Attentive, friendly and professional staff as well as beautiful, comfortable and well maintained amenities make for the best hotel experience I have had in a long time. I even spent 1 day sick in bed and felt right a home in a my large comfy king with advil brought right to my door. I highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
basel555,
Thank you for such a wonderful endorsement. Happy to see we could play a part in restoring your faith in customer service. As you can imagine service is what we are most proud of at our property and we are happy to see that you recognized this. We are sorry to hear that you were ill during your stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon when you are well enough to really enjoy your stay.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    215
    104
    46
    27
See reviews for
131
355
52
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights recently at the Viceroy Santa Monica on a pleasure trip. From reservations, check-in, quality of room, service and food it was outstanding. Great location made it easy to walk around Santa Monica area. Definite great choice in places to stay in the LA area. Staff was truly happy e were there and wanted us to have a great experience, which we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Tom B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience us. We are glad to hear it was an excellent one for both you and your wife. Ensuring our guests have a great experience is the reason our staff is here so yes they definitely were happy that you did.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I recently went to the LA area for our babymoon. We selected the Viceroy because of its location close to the beach and its modern style. We were very pleased with the service at this hotel. Upon our arrival we were served champagne (lemondae for me). There was a nice handwritten and personal note in our room with a plate of fresh fruit. The conceirge went above and beyond helping us find several restaurants that would fit my dietary needs. The parking is valet only, but with a quick text message, our car was ready in five minutes and the valets were very friendly and always offering to help with directions. The amenities at the hotel were very nice and the service was excellent. I would stay there again on our next trip to the LA area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Nicole A,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your babymoon. As many of us know this celebration can be even more anticipated than a honeymoon. We are thrilled that you feel the staff gave you the pampering that new parents deserve. We can't wait to welcome you back maybe next time with the little on in tow.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great service. Amazing decor. Pool was great. I stayed here with my fiance' and we had a great time. Everything from the check-in to the sun at the pool was great. We ate down the street at BOA which is just about walkable. One of my favorite hotels.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean view, I'm not sure if all of the rooms have one but obviously it is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
JW1311,
We are so happy to hear of the wonderful experience that you and your fiance' had with us. Glad that you were able to both enjoy your time at the hotel and were able to walk and explore the rest of the city. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysi, Va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I travel all over the world and I truely enjoy and appreciate this type of Hotel Business Model. They know we are tired of the cookie cutter establishments. I have stayed at both Shutters and Casa Del Mar and they just don't get their clientel but the Viceroy uses just enough chic and class to make you feel special and important. I echo other commenters they have nice clean room (comfortable bed), great bathrooms, and provide top notch service. Example when you call guest services they greet you by your name. Requested a wakup call they actually call you and wake you up! No robots and then they said do you want a rewake up call in 15 or 20 min!!! When we checked in they talked to us asked us about our travels and really cared then they asked me what I wanted to do and made suggestions on what I could do and then set it up!! Real people really giving superior customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
MOJO_Haysi.
Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our business model. We do strive to be the furthest thing from a cookie cutter hotel and we're happy to hear you enjoy this. Thank you for also recognizing our staff. They do truly care about our guests and I know it means a lot to them to hear how special and important they made you feel. Thanks for sharing this.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I always stay at the Viceroy Santa Monica on business. It makes work become pleasure and I don't feel the jetlag. Thumbs up! Rooms are large and service absolutely perfect. Great atmosphere at the bar and patio! The restaurant is also very good and not too pricey. I recommend Viceroy over any other hotel experience on the ocean between LAX and .... San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ocean view or patio upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
stephane l,
Merci beaucoup for always choosing us during your travels. If we are able to make work a pleasure then we're definitely doing something right. Thank you for sharing you experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on many more visits.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I only have positive things to say about the Viceroy. Coming in exhausted from the east coast, I was given a glass of champagne at check in and lots of understanding from the exemplary staff. I had a terrific ocean view room with a great bed and a super bathroom. Marble shower with a bench seat and strong water pressure. Room was spotless and bright. Sliding glass door opened up to the street and the ocean breezes. A bit noisy with the traffic but not a big problem. The lobby bar had some interesting cocktails to try, along with an eclectic menu of tapas-style dishes, which were quite good. When I returned to my room, there was a voicemail message from a staff member asking to call them if I needed any help with printing off boarding passes, luggage, etc. very nice touch as they knew I was only there for one night. Strong complimentary wifi service. Valet parking was $35 per night which appears expensive, but then again this is LA. There was complimentary coffee in the lobby before 6am, and the breakfast served in the downstairs restaurant was excellent - fresh pressed organic juices and healthy options for main dishes. The juices and smoothies are brought in daily from a local provider, don't miss them. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is funky but very stylish, with lots of nice touches and a killer outside pool area. This is not a cheap hotel for the casual traveler, but as a business traveler or a discerning traveler not overly concerned with cost, you will not be disappointed. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Bodhi360,
We can't thank you enough for such a lovely review. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to enjoy so much of the hotel even though you were only here one night. Next time we hope you can stay a bit longer so we can really show you a good time. We look forward to it and will have a pressed juice waiting for you. Thanks again for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.