We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a bit pretensious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a bit pretensious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there over Christmas. Was nice hotel, great location, nice rooms but a bit crowded. had an overall feeling of being pretensions. We didn't want to pay $40 for valet parking and asked about street parking. The staff was not forthcoming about the availability while in fact there was street parking right in front of the hotel. Otherwise, was fine.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
naomi_steinberger,
Thank you for choosing to spend the holiday season with us. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't feel the joy but glad to hear you had a good stay overall. Our staff is reluctant to recommend street parking due to the strict enforcement of permit, tow and metered areas by the Santa Monica Police. We thank you though for taking the time to share your feedback.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    202
    95
    44
    26
See reviews for
118
332
50
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I loved my 4 days at this oasis by the sea. As someone who travels alone frequently for work, I find it tough to find hotels that have a non-stuffy approach to mixing business and pleasure, especially for the younger crowd. There's so much personality at this spot that you really feel like you are taking advantage of the location, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It's also an easy stay sans car, which I feel is somewhat rare for the area. There's walkable entertainment in every direction, but I also found sticking around the hotel to be equally fun. A final plus - they let me check in at 10am, which saved me half a day of wandering with no home base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
ch w,
Thank you for such a glowing review. Oasis by the sea, we really like that one. You definitely got the full Viceroy Experience and nothing gives us more joy. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what a great experience you had. Look forward to having you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Viceroy in Santa Monica is a nice, stylish hotel about 1 block from the beach. The rooms are of a nice size & decorated in a fun sort of '60's modern way. The bathroom is nicely decorated with marble tile but has a sliding door that doesn't quite close (just as word of warning if sharing the room with friends!). The hotel is on a busy street so there is some street noise- if you get a room that is not ocean-facing, be warned that rooms on the odd numbered side if they are not looking out over the pool, they will be looking over a parking lot where the hotel seems to do repairs (we were in room 525) and you can hear noise from the repair area. The hotel staff is very friendly, the beach is a block walk away, there is coffee/pastries every morning & the cleaning staff does a great job with the rooms. Overall enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have less street/parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
rachael a,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I imagine the beach sounds really good to you right now as cold as it is in NYC. We appreciate the feedback you provided and will look into the source of the repair work being done. We certainly hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed with our 2 children aged 11 & 9 in adjoining ocean-front rooms. The room setup was comfortable and setup worked well. From the moment we checked in, we were treated to exceptional service from all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they had great local knowledge for restaurants , sightseeing & tips for commuting around LA. The decor of the hotel was funky and the outdoor pool area was gorgeous. The hotel had a lovely downstairs bar to enjoy a cool drink at the end of a busy day.
The location was perfect for walking to the pier or shopping precinct.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and would consider staying here again if we chose Santa Monica. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Jacinta G,
We are delighted to hear that the family had such a wonderful time. Your kind words about the service your experienced mean so much to us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Room on top floor was comfortable, spacious and there was a great view of the ocean. Breakfast was disappointing and car parking fee seemed high. No complementary water on the room. We've stayed at many hotels on the Californian coast during the past 3 weeks and all provided mineral water free of charge each day. It didn't spoil our stay but it was a niggle.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Huggis,
We are very sorry to hear that we didn't exceed your expectations. If there is anything we try to avoid more than anything it is providing our guests with an average experience. Glad though that you enjoyed your room and the view. Water, available in the mini bar in room, is also offered to our guests in lieu of champagne as a welcome drink and at our runner's station located at valet. Thank you very much for joining us and for providing your feedback.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived in Santa Monica after a four week trip to LA from NYC. What a hotel to choose... It was amazing. Our ocean view king room had a view to die for. The staff were as wonderful. Santa Monica, you stole my heart. Viceroy, you've made a friend for life. (A special shout out to Sandrine for helping us).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Craiglegrice,
Thanks so much for your review. So glad that we were able to play a part in ending your trip on a high note. We've shared you comments with our entire team especially Ms. Sandrine. I've heard of leaving your heart in San Francisco but we'll definitely take you leaving your heart in Santa Monica instead. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked the hotel because we wanted to stay in SM and this hotel offered an excellent location, close to the beach and in a walkable area, just off Main St.
We arrived late and had asked for a room with view, which i would recommend otherwise you can end up with view of the parking lot in the back even though you're 2 streets from the ocean.
We got a room on the 6th floor in the end of the hall, the view was nice but we found out that we were right by the service elevator which was extremely noisy particularly in the early morning and evening.
The hotel was decorated Kelly Wearstler and it's very modern and sleek. However for such a new hotel I found it to be badly kept up. We were surprised to find loose screws and rust stains in the bath and the bedroom lamp (which was a china dog) was broken (?). Cleanliness seemed to be an issue as well since there was a huge amount of dust in the furniture, which didn't get cleaned while we were there.
I would stay here for the location but was clearly disappointed by the maintenance. This hotel was very hype when I lived in SM but it seems to be losing its luster. Hope somebody takes care of it.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view otherwise instead of an ocean view you'll be staring at the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
spdmatos,
We're very disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations. We do though greatly appreciate your feedback. The hotel has just celebrated our 10 year anniversary and along with this we plan to conduct a refresh of our rooms near the end of the year. We hope we can welcome you back when this is completed.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.