We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Concierge service is second to none. James is amazing!! the entire staff is fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the Concierge service is second to none. James is amazing!! the entire staff is fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

the hotel is cool, the rooms are nice, but the service is OUTSTANDING! the Concierge service is top notch (thank you James!) the text availability is great for working people on the go and the personal attention is amazing. so we'll done. even the text to get the car out of valet is such a great detail. love it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for singling out James. He is a great asset to the hotel! We started doing the text about a year ago and have really seen an increaase in the cutomer engagement!

We hope to see you again soon!

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
PS I would have sent this by text but I didnt have your number! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    221
    107
    46
    27
See reviews for
135
367
53
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just stayed at the Viceroy and had a terrific experience. From the greeting at check in with a glass of Champagne and chocolates, to the valet's speedy service to the beautiful room. I couldn't believe I was even facing the front of the hotel and It was so quiet.
Risa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We love to hear it time and time again!
We certainly hope you can join us again soon!

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I loved this hotel. The vibe is warm and lively. The rooms are spacious and about to be renovated. They clean and retro looking right now. This is not my favorite decor but I loved the room. The bathroom was big as was the shower. The bath products the hotel supplies are lovely.
Room service is prompt and the staff is accommodating and friendly. The bar is well stocked and the drinks are professional made to perfection. The concierge, I believe his name is James, made us dinner reservations and I liked his suggestions.

I would recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I love that you have singled out James, as he is a great asset to the hotel. We love hearing about it time and time again!

We hope to have you with us again soon!

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic! valet parking on arrival, super fast check in with ice cool drinks provided. the room was a dream... modern décor, Lovely clean bathroom with fab bathroom products provided. The whole hotel is beautiful. The beach and pier is just a short stroll away. The evening meal was very good, and the breakfast was huge! We only stayed the one night to travel to L.A.X the next morning, hope to return for longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Please try to stay a little longer next time you are away from Jolly Ol England!

Cheers!
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed again at Viceroy following previously staying for the last night of my honeymoon a few years ago. I don't think I could stay here without guaranteeing an ocean view room. You cannot beat watching the sunset over the pacific with a cocktail from your room at Viceroy. The rooms at Viceroy are very comfortable and have such a brilliant, quirky, individual style with it's colour pallette of grey and green. I think they describe it as "colonial". Among the best rooms I've ever stayed design-wise. Bathrooms are marble and huge. Dining at Whist is a great experience with its oversived white leather upright chairs at table around the pool outside. The food was OK this time, but previously it was excellent. Its great to have breakfast here too. The bar was very busy, I think the hotel perhaps had a conference, as it was full of irritating corporate types. Cocktails are excellent. Service throughout the hotel is very good. Very friendly reception. At my last stay they were happy to let us use a room in the evening to freshen up before our flight, after checking out of the hotel at midday. It does take a while to get used to valet parking, especially when used to parking yourself and not having lots of staff rush up to your car, but this is LA and thats what happens here! Shame it also costs!! The hotel is just across the road from Santa Monica beach, a short 5-10 minute walk to the pier and 10-15 minutes to Santa Monica itself. Abbott Kinney Boulevard in Venice is a 10 min taxi ride away. Or walk up the beach to Venice and via the canals! Go! I can't wait for my next stay!!

Room Tip: Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words! You covered it all. We hope that we can welcome you back once again in the not too distant future!

Happy Holidays!
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Last year we stayed at the Casa Del Mar across the street (great property!) and this year I wanted something different so we stayed at the Viceroy. While the exterior looks dated, the interior is a designer's dream with its funky black and white decor. It's only too bad it rained the entire time we were here.

We arrived at 11:30 a.m. on a weekday morning and the front desk did whatever they could to be able to check us in -- including upgrading us to a suite which was very unexpected. The room had a nice water view and was well appointed. They even gave us free Internet with the suite.

We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and it was wonderful with a very nice staff. They had a great choice of breakfast items including even quinoa and poached eggs with spinach and squash that was amazing!

My only complaint is that on the Saturday we stayed, we left our room at 8:30 a.m. and returned at about 4 p.m. only to find the room had not been serviced. When we called down we were told that we should not have left our "Privacy Please" sign on the door (which we didn't but everyone we talked to automatically assumed we did which was very annoying) and then we were given an excuse that the hotel was sold out the night before so they were backed up which is not a good excuse to give -- I work in the hotel industry and you don't tell people that. We had then wanted to relax a bit and shower before going to dinner so we asked them to please make up the room between 6 and 9 which they did, but I don't think we should have had to ask twice for them to do that (after I called down I also stopped at the front desk to make sure they would do it while we were out to dinner as I didn't want to have to be complaining again and asking for my room to be made up at 10 at night -- particularly since a wedding was taking place and there were people everywhere).

Due to the wedding, it got pretty noisy at 2 a.m. in the hallways with drunken celebrants, but that was really the only negative. Unfortunately when you are in a hotel on a Saturday night, weddings are pretty commonplace and is where the hotel makes their money.

The valet parking guys were great. You called down and your car was waiting before you got down in the elevator. Since it was raining we couldn't enjoy the pool or the outside seating, but it looked really nice. Would highly recommend the hotel -- but the area surrounding it in Santa Monica is a little dicey if you go walking after dark. Take your car.

Only other complaint was that the a/c unit in the room went on and off literally every 2 minutes so it kept waking me up all night long. Not sure why it didn't keep the room cooler longer than that as I had never seen anything like that.

Room Tip: Go oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you gave us a try. I am sorry to hear about the AC issue and the dealyed housekeeping. I will certainly remind the team about how to deliver a message better. We do always appreciate when guests let us know of a preferred time to clean the room so we can make sure it is done before your return.

Please reach out on your next trip to Santa Monica so I may personally oversee your reservations.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Took advantage of a referral and stayed here rather than my usual! Super fantastic everything. Location! Service! Accommodation! Definitely recommend staying here and I will be back soon. The staff were so amazing! Glass of bubbly waiting with chocolates at reception for my arrival, need I say more???????

Room Tip: Ocean view over the 4th floor please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you and please thank your friend for send you our way! We live off of word of mouth!
Have a great Holiday Season!
Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.