We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cyber Monday – December 1
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“gorgeous hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Viceroy is everything you hope it will be: classy and sophisticated, but still friendly. They upgraded us to an ocean view room and we were able to see the sunset directly from our (small) balcony. I would absolutely stay at the Viceroy again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much! Please don't stay away too long!
Regards,

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    237
    114
    49
    28
See reviews for
151
393
57
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Having just finished 2 nights at The JW Marriott across the street my husband was reluctant to leave and try the Viceroy for our 3rd night. I had a special rate via email and insisted.
From the moment we arrived we were both blown away! Decor was superb & energizing. Staff was personal and welcoming - made us feel like we just arrived home. Complimentary glass of champagne awaited us.
Viceroy has an upscale boutique feeling. Entire hotel was spotless.
Stayed on the top floor overlooking pool. Room made good use of space, quiet, luxurious and what a comfortable bed!
Enjoyed cocktails/ appetizers in the bar, ate breakfast in Whist. Fantastic menu, well prepared food. Fairly priced for Santa Monica - pricey town overall.
Guests during our stay were mostly mid 30's to 60's (probably due to no DJ that night?).
Hard to find the hotel because there is no large sign posted, just small parking entrance signs. Not next to the promenade but a short 3 minute cab ride.
When visiting family in town this will become our new "home-away-from-home"

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear WongaPark,

Thank you for choosing us. We are very excited to hear that this was your best experience in Santa Monica! We hope to see you again.

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hotel in late November. It's a beautifully designed hotel near the beach. The front rooms have views of the beach over the rooftops of the buildings in front. So you really need room on 4th floor or above. We liked almost everything about it. The rooms are great, the bar and restaurant are excellent. Although for dinner when the waiter says the portions are small he actually means it. My only complaint is that for a 5 star hotel I feel it's a bit too commercial. For example they charge for Internet, they put goodies in your room that you can buy at high cost and when we wanted to have a late check out (to connect to a late flight back to London) they wanted to charge us a full 24 hour rate. Having said that almost all the staff were excellent and everything worked as it should. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nothing but praise! We were celebrating my daughters 16th birthday in LA as our plans had been changed suddenly from NYC due to hurricane Sandy – Manhattan was shut down and we had to scramble to make alternate plans. So with little time to prepare we put together an itinerary and wanted to spend her actual birthday in Santa Monica. On a whim my husband contacted the front desk and told them that I was to arrive that morning and if they could wish our daughter happy birthday. Well they took it to the next level and provided us with a complimentary upgrade because they could and brought up a lovely piece of chocolate cake wishing my daughter a happy sweet sixteen. At every turn and on every inquiry the staff were always there to help and were very polite and professional. Our room was sleek and stylish immaculate - it easy to see why this hotel is rated so highly. I travel internationally with work and have spent a lot of time in a lot of wonderful hotels but without a doubt Viceroy Santa Monica is now in my top 5. Thank you so much for making our stay so welcoming and special.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view and I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I needed a hotel for a short stay while I was visiting family and friends. The Viceroy fit the bill...good location, rooms were fine ... I was upgraded to a partial ocean view on the 3rd floor. Bed was comfy, linens super soft, and tv large screen, plenty of light in the room, the hallways were another story, very dimly lit and I'm thankful I had a bellman to show me the way! The bathrooms were large, although a shower/tub combo, no scale and no slippers. Offered a glass of champagne on checkin, a very nice touch and that staff called me by name, very strong customer service. The gym was small, probably two rooms combined, but filled with equipment in good working order. I was probably the oldest guest on the premises, and I'm still south of 60!

Room Tip: Ocean views are always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for you great review. We appreciate the time you took to write about us.
Please come and visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great level of consistently good service, particularly clean!
Great amenities whether you juls want to lounge by the pool or a quiet moment in th comfy library chairs to sharing a dring in the vibey bar/lounge.
Service excellence and of course best of all, great location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank for your review from the other side of the world. Please keep coming back for all of your future trips from South Africa!! Maybe someday we will have a hotel there as well!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.