We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Santa Monica

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Santa Monica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early, Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glendora, California
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Viceroy the weekend of our wedding. In addition to staying at the hotel we had our rehearsal dinner there. From the moment we arrived the staff treated us like we were the only guests there. Everyone we came into contact with was attentive, courteous, and genuinely nice. The suite we had was amazing and my wife has still not stopped talking about it. The event staff that handled our rehearsal dinner was exceptional. Every need we had was taken care of and the event was a complete success. I can't begin to express how happy we were with the weekend. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and anytime we go to Santa Monica we will be staying at the Viceroy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your post! We are thrilled you such a great wedding weekend here. We do indeed have a great events and catering team that continues to impress our guests. Please come back and spend many anniversaries to come with us!

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    213
    100
    45
    27
See reviews for
127
352
52
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Viceroy is celebrating its 10th birthday this year and during my stay it was also Halloween, which was great for my group because they had a really cool pool party with top DJ as entertainment. I could also see that if this type of event isn't your cup of tea it could have been a different experience.
The hotel experience was good the rooms are well presented and still have a modern feel to them but slightly tired looking in the bathroom. Service at the hotel was great, we had a delay in gaining access to my room as it wasn't quite ready but a few free drinks helped smooth this inconvenience over.
I would recommend this hotel to travellers looking for a cool place to stay and hang out but maybe not if you are looking for a more tranquil hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for summing it quite well. We do have a fun scene here on the weekends. We have a long history of being a top night spot on the Westside. Thank you for supporting us and hope that you can find time to stay with us again soon!

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We vacationed with friends and found the hotel to be absolutely perfect. It was close enough to the hustle and bustle of Rodeo Drive and far enough to enjoy a relaxing time in Santa Monica. The hotel staff were super friendly and efficient. And the guys loved the bar staff for their friendly service and conversation. The staff recommended excellent eateries on the Pier. Overall very friendly service and the facilities immaculate. Will recommend the Viceroy to all my friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to have had you with us. Please come and stay with us again should your travels bring you to our fine city!

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed in Santa Monica and were thrilled with the Viceroy. We had exceptional service from the front desk, the bar personnel and the bellman. They were full of suggestions and no request was too much trouble. We also liked the location of the hotel. It was easy to get to the beach, pier, and downtown Main Street. We walked everywhere, even at night. It was safe, clean, and very chic! Although we certainly saw the potential for problems, we were not bothered by the construction on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday. We were in room 624, right on the corner of the building next to the construction. The hotel is on a main road so if you open the sliders (there are 2 on each window) there will be noise. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I am happy you had a nice stay. We hope that you are able to come and visit us again soon. The construction will be a beautiful building when its done and make the block look great, but until then we have some dust and occasional noise to endure.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved this hotel, booked it for some R & R at the end of a busy three week holiday to the States. Very confortable, modern, firendly staff. I choose an ocean view room which was worth the extra. Nice products in the bathroon and very confortable beds. Very close walk to beach and only 10 minutes from Pier.

Room Tip: Ocean view room lovely and sunny, although you can open the door there is no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you had a nice visit. We do hope that you can come stay with us next time you escape from OZ to LA.

Warm Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When upon arrival I was escorted to a very comfy chair at reception and handed a glass of champagne, I knew this was not going to be your average hotel stay. Even for a luxury boutique hotel. Everyone from valet to check-in staff to bartenders and more were friendly and helpful. They all appeared to enoy their jobs. To me that quality makes the experience feel sincere. I was there for a weekend event that my company was sponsoring for our top clients. I heard only great things from our customers. Thank you Viceroy.
The only reason I did not give a 5 star rating is because of noise from the night time pool bar and also I would have liked more security for guests using the elevators.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor on the ocean side if possible. Better views and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We are sorry that the noise was a bit more than you had anticipated. If you are not going to be party of the festivities by the pool on the weekends, we do suggest booking a Partial Ocean View Room or Ocean View room as they are not poolside facing.

Thank you again and we do hope that you can escape from the OC and stay with us again soon. We have some great packages for November and December that include parking incase you want to come back and so some holiday shopping! Check out our site for more details.

Regards,
Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Was in LA for another photoshoot 10/28-10/31 and we decided to stay at the Viceroy (instead of pricier for the view and a bit out dated Loews as we did a few weeks prior). Overall I loved the fresh decor and the vibe and the fact that this hotel was more intimate/boutique like. The staff was amazing - very profesh and accommodating. Had a great view of the ocean from my room - especially for the price- and loved the comfy bed, nice sized bathroom and Kai toiletries (for purchase). The negatives were that I felt the menu was a bit sparse and I'm not a fan of the Neil George bath products (too masculine/spicy for my taste). The worst part of this stay was a knocking noise coming through the walls. They did have facilities check it out (he said it may be air in the pipes) and try in vain to fix it. This knocking was intermittent the entire stay and seemed louder at night so it was difficult to get work done and nearly impossible to sleep. So if you're staying in the immediate future beware of room 510. Not sure if we'll stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy you gave us a try. We are definitely fresher than the Loews a bit more contemporary. The Neil George is a standard across the brand, the scent is grapefruit in case anyone is wondering about it. The building is 40 years old an occasionally she acts up. I am sorry that it was during your stay as it has not happened since. Thank you for trying us and hope that you give us another try.

Troy Pade
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Santa Monica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.